Wisconsin Slow Cooker Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I make this a lot during the summer. HUGE hit with the boys. I like to serve it with homemade coleslaw to slop on top and homemade jo-jo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I loved these and since house smells like beer and onions anyways it didnt matter! LOL they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Overall, not bad...but probably not something I'd make again. My husband is a fan of bratwurst and since this had so few ingredients and looked so simple I thought I'd give this a try. On top of that there's no shortage of beer in this house so I was able to convince my husband to give up a bottle - LOL. So, for a package of 5 brats I used one bottle vs. two with one whole onion thick sliced and half ketchup, half tomato-based chili sauce along with some minced garlic and a bit of dry mustard. I cooked this on high for 4 hours and they really didn't need to be finished on the grill because they were done. I thickened up the "sauce" that was in the crock pot with a little cornstarch and by leaving the top off. Overall, my husband thought they were pretty good on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lindy_tx
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made a batch following the recipe but it seemed more like something I would feed the kids -- overly sweet due to the ketchup. I made a second batch using my homemade BBQ suace and that turned out better. All in all, brats are so easy to cook that using the slow cooker wsa a bit of overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Watch out! Onion and beer in a slow cooker make the whole house smell of onion for days! Otherwise this is a great way to prep your brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was so looking forward to these. They tasted good but the texture of the brat was so mushy that it was unappetizing. Won't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I used frozen turkey bratwurst....absolutely wonderful...will use this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had a party at my house and I felt like Martha Stewart. EVERYONE loved the brats and all asked for the recipe. We did throw the brats on the grill to give them some color after they were all cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is our favorite potluck bbq recipe. I throw 17 brats into my huge crockpot & EVERYONE loves them after they are pulled off the grill! Thank you for such an easy recipe with such yummy results! I love the no fuss & easy ingredients that make my day much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These came out great! I used one bottle of Capitol Brewery Baltic Porter (dark flavorful beer) and one bottle of their Island Wheat (golden ale). The quality of beer definitely affects how the brats turn out. Do not use cheap beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States