Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is the first beer cheese soup I have tried to make and it turned out great! I've had differant varieties of it at differant Super Bowl parties over the years and Have always enjoyed it. The only thing I did a little differant is I grilled some Brats untill well done and smokey then ground them up and put them in the soup. It was AWESOME! Go Seahawks!! Also used a little more cheese + one cup of shredded parmigon chese and a bout 2 bottles of henrys fall lager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Outstanding recipe!! We planned on making enough to freeze for a cold day but it was all finished by the lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonnyd523

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
As is, this soup rates a 5. It's delicious, relatively simple, and includes my favorite veggies to have in creamy soup. I've made it a few times, just like the recipe and changed it once, adding diced red pepper, and cumin, along with half pepper jack, garnishing with tortilla strips, for a southwestern thing. Both versions are on semi-regular rotation now! Not only is this a great recipe, but it's a good jumping off point, too. Also, the flavor of the beer really shines through, and dark beers work better (not stouts, but a heavy lager is perfect!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I make a lot of soups, but this one was the best yet! A wonderful blend of Wisconsin favorites. Didn't have dry mustard, so used the mustard you put on hotdogs and it turned out delicious. Husband raved and craved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This soup was great. I have tried other recipes for this soup but this is the one I am keeping. I used milk instead of cream and ommited the popcorn. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Wow! This recipe is amazing! It makes a large pot of soup but I'm sure you can half it. I used Obsidian Stout beer and it gave it a LOT of flavor. Deeee-licious! I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This soup is delicious! Instead of adding carrots and celery, we added broccoli because that's what we had on hand. We used sweet & spicy mustard as well as whiskey mustard along with a couple of different kinds of cheddar cheese and nut brown ale. Turned out great - we even loved the popcorn (don't knock it until you try it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Every bite of this soup was wounderful beyond words. Try it, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is the best beer cheese soup I have ever had! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
perfect perfect perfect!!!!!!!! i added 2 more cups of cheese to make it thicker. tastes even better reheated the next day. reheat on the stove, not the mircowave. when you taste it , it's like 3 differnt flavors in 1 soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States