Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very rich and delicious. The only changes I made to this recipe was omit the dry mustard since I didn't have any on hand & to puree the veggies (since my family doesn't like diced or chunk veggies in their beer cheese soup). Served with popcorn for first serving and croutons on top for second serving. The popcorn won out! :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I would make some changes next time... I did add fresh sliced mushrooms for the last 10 min simmer, which was a great addition. Next time I will cut the broth to 2 cups, cut the half and half to 3 cups & up the flour to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy. My friend and I made this together on St. Patrick's day with Irish Soda Bread from this site. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
was really good, creamy and full of flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've heard my Wisconsin-born fiancée rave over beer cheese soup made by a friend, and I was very much looking forward to trying this recipe when I found it. Even though I added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper instead of following the directions, it still seemed extremely bland to me considering how much liquid there is. I was very disappointed with this recipe. It needed to be much thicker and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ball, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is so yummy. I enjoy using local micro brews to give it a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicous! Followed another reviewer's recommendation to puree the vegetables after they had cooked in the broth for awhile, worked great and made the soup smooth and creamy like I envision cheese soup should be! Reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really good. I used it as my base recipe and made lots of changes. First of all, I made a much smaller quantity. Didn't measure anything, just eye balled it. I simplified the cooking method by simmering the carrots, onions and celery with about 4 cups of chicken stock and 2 bottles of beer until it was reduced by half (45 mins). Then I added 1 cup half and half and a few tblsp flour. Brought to a boil to thicken, and then added about 3 cups of grated cheddar, and a cup of small broccoli flowerettes. This was delish, I will for sure made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States