Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I'm in Green Bay, waiting for the Packer game to start and my husband just made this. It is devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Outstanding. i used 2 cups of Mexican cheese mix and 4 cups of shedded cheddar. The Mexican cheese mix gave it some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Sooooooooooooo good! It was a little thin but the taste made up for it. The veggies were a little chrunchy at first but I made the soup and then moved it to a crock pot and let it cook on low for a few hours, still waiting to see if that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I make this at home and for my coworkers all the time, we love it. Here's how I make it. I use an Alaskan Amber beer, half and half for sure, and for the shredded cheeses I use 3 cups aged sharp cheddar cheese 1 1/2 cups havarti and 1 1/2 cups gruyere cheese (ok probably a little more) and lastly instead of popcorn on top, add fully cooked sliced andouille sausage to add a little more spice and smokey flavor then usually put it in a crock pot to stay warm for work. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
- garlic cloves. 3x Tabasco. 2 cups of beer=1 bottle of Heineken. Makes 4-6 big bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! We vacation in Wisconsin a few times each year for the past 25 years so we feel like almost-natives. Looking forward to developing a lightened-up version so we can justify making this a lot more often! We'll save the full-flavor version from "Savvyhostess" for those Bears vs. Green Bay games! Go Bears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I am a former Wisconsin native, too, and really love a good beer cheese soup. This recipe was excellent. I was worried, however, that the carrots & celery would be undercooked and make the soup too chunky, so I boiled them until about three-quarters-soft. I also sauteed the onions in butter & olive oil along with some bacon until they were tender. Cooled all the veggies then put them in a food processor until they were "bits and pieces". (I had also added the hot pepper sauce, cayenne, Worcestershire, dry mustard, salt and pepper into the food processor.) I added the seasoned vegetable mixture to a saucepan along with the beer (Miller Lite, of course - it's either that or Leine's!) and reduced sodium chicken broth. Boiled that mixture up while working on the flour/butter/half & half. It seemed to be easier to make each of these components separately, and the soup turned out brilliantly. I let it simmer a lot longer, probably about 30 minutes, to thicken and let that delicious aroma permeate my kitchen. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Super easy to make and scrumptious. Being a Wisconsinite I naturally added a bit more cheese. I also added a little bit of Red Hot Buffalo sauce in addition to the regular hot sauce, gave it a bit more zing. We used New Glarus Spotted Cow for the beer, worked really well! Next time might add some cooked brats for even more of a Wisco vibe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Not sure how this was supposed to taste...mine came out rather bitter. I'll try making it again and not putting in the dry mustard and maybe use a lighter beer? Also, trying to get the ingredients together and follow instructions on an ipad is a pain in the butt...could have been the formatting on the ipad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This soup is very good and very easy to make. It had little too much mustard for our liking, but that is an easy fix for next time and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States