Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Not sure how this was supposed to taste...mine came out rather bitter. I'll try making it again and not putting in the dry mustard and maybe use a lighter beer? Also, trying to get the ingredients together and follow instructions on an ipad is a pain in the butt...could have been the formatting on the ipad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This soup is very good and very easy to make. It had little too much mustard for our liking, but that is an easy fix for next time and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
There's a major flaw with this recipe. It calls for "beer". There are dozens of styles of beer, this recipe needs to be more specific to be successful. I used a homebrewed porter; unfortunately, the beer flavor completely overwhelmed all of the other flavors. This soup would have been a lot tastier with a lighter beer, I wish I had known that before I made a huge pot... disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
You HAVE to be kidding me! This was AWESOME soup! It could have been the cheese we used (smokey cheddar and some habanero cheddar. Light beer cuz that's what we had. I cooked this low and slow and changed up the order of the directions. It was a wonderful recipe...thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very good! I followed the recipe pretty closely as far as ingredients go, only adding a bit of swiss and an Irish cheddar to the regular cheddar. I took the advice of previous raters and changed up the directions. I sauteed the carrots, celery, onions and garlic in the butter, then added the broth and let it simmer for 20 minutes. Then I added the beer. I mixed the salt, pepper, cayenne, dry mustard and flour together and slowly sprinkled while stirring it into the vegetable-broth-beer-mixture. Then I reduced the heat and stirred in the half and half, then added the cheese. I put Tabasco and Sriracha Chili Sauce on the table for guests to add to their own tastes. My sister mentioned that maybe some of the raters are having difficulty with consistency because they may be using store-bought pre-shredded cheese rather than shredding it themselves. There could be an anti-caking agent in the pre-shredded cheeses that is causing the cheese not to melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made this on St. Pats day and it disappeared! Even one of my friends who cooks at a local restaurant/bar wanted the recipe so she could make it at the bar. My wife beat me to the 3/4 cup that was leftover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beavercreek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was delicious! Living on the border of Wisconsin and Minnesota I've had the pleasure in sampling many beer cheese soups. This was the best home made recipe we have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bksmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crescent, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
The cheese doesn't melt in very well and it has kind of a weird aftertaste. It just doesn't taste like the beer-cheese soup I remember as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I thought that this recipe was great, my SO on the other hand gave it a 3 so we'll average it to a 4. The beer flavor really does come through. I agree with those who said don't add the popcorn until the last second because it melts right in to the soup (but does give it a nice crunch). I also cooked everything in one pan softening the veggies first as suggested by others. Very good. I'm freezing half of this, so we'll see how it reheats. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious recipe, but the cooking method as described needs work. There's no reason this soup should require two pots to fix. That's just more mess and extra work for such a simple soup. Rather than following the cooking instructions, I did something similar to other reviewers in that I sauteed the veggies in butter and salt first for about 5 minutes, added the flour and dry seasonings next and cooked the dry mixture for a few minutes before gradually adding the liquid ingredients (plus the pepper and worcestershire sauces) and letting everything simmer for 20 minutes or so before adding the cheese at the very end. I prefer a smoother texture for my soups, so I took an immersion blender to the pot right before I added in the cheese. Apart from that though, this is a terrific recipe. My family raved about the flavor and the leftovers are delicious too. The key to getting great results for this soup is to use good cheese. Don't be lazy and use preshredded cheddar, as the flavor profile and the texture won't be as good than if you had picked up a block of decent cheddar (I used Tillamook, but a good Wisconsin cheese would be fitting!) and grated it yourself. The result will be so much creamier and the taste so much richer that you won't regret the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States