Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Beaker88
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Much better if you shred the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe and super easy to make! Serves up great with a pretzel bread. I didn't have any mustard powder, so I omitted that... did not seem to matter because it was still awesome! The soup base smells a lot of beer, but don't be scared, because it comes together beautifully! I've used different beers every time I've made it, depending on what I have at home, and it's always turned out great. I did fry a couple strips of bacon in the pan and used the drippings to fry the veggies... of course everything is better with bacon! I added the crumbles to the top of the soup before serving. I have made this a couple of times, and it is a great platform to adjust to your liking... Thanks so much Savvyhostess for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The veggies didn't soften and the flavor wasn't that great. I even used Spotted Cow. We have a local restaurant in town that has the best cheese soup, and it looks like we'll be going there to render our craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Born and raised in WI and I have had many different types of beer cheese soup- all being delish! I followed the recipe to a "T" and Im not really digging it. Its not thick enough and the veggies never got soft (And I simmered them for 10 min longer than the recipe said to.) I wouldn't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this recipe with technique changes as suggested by another reviewer. I kept the ingredients the same but sweated the veggies about 10 minutes, then added the flour and browned, then added liquids and remainder of the ingredients except the cheese. I simmered the soup about ten minutes stirring frequently. I then removed from the heat and stirred in the cheese a little at a time. It turned out so smooth and delicious. I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone in the mood for a great cheese soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjc123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My wife loved the soup I made tonight. The Beer was Sam Adam's Hazel Brown, what a great pairing with Sharp Cheddar and a small block of Velveeta. Did use the blender to puree veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Perfect on a cold night. Kids and husband all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I liked the ingredient list for this soup, and as I always do, read many reviews for helpful tips. Here are my tweaks to an already excellent soup: 1. I added a diced red bell pepper (pimento/cheese is a match made in heaven; see "Masters Tournament Pimento Cheese Sandwich".....). 2. I sauteed my vegetables in the heavy soup stock pot with 3 tablespoons of butter before adding the 2 cups of beer and only 1 cup of chicken stock to gently simmer. 3. After making the roux in a high-sided saute pan and cooking it for about 5 minutes (stirring constantly with a wire wisk) I added the remaining 2 cups of chicken stock so I could get the roux to a boil. THIS STEP IS CRITICAL TO FULLY COOKING THE FLOUR, BREAKING IT DOWN PAST ITS "GRAINY" STATE, AND MAXIMIZING THE THICKENING POTENTIAL OF THE ROUX! Seems quite a few folks have trouble with runny and grainy soup. Unless you get your roux to a decent boil with some liquid OTHER than milk - which will curdle at boil- then you're missing the boat as far as proper texture of the soup. 4. After boiling/stirring the roux/stock mixture for about 5 minutes, I started adding the milk (whole). 5. After the milk was incorporated, I started adding FINELY SHREDDED cheese a handful at a time. The fine shred makes the melt process go much, much faster, and you can easily wisk this half of the soup to a velvety texture before adding it to the vegetable/beer mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Really yummy we used 2% milk and an Octoberfest beer. So good. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States