Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good! Thinner than I thought it would be or I would have given it a 5. I used the ingredients as written, but made in one pot: sweated the veggies in the butter until tender, added broth until hot, then milk till hot, then the flour tossed with cheese so I wouldn't get lumps in the soup. Beer and last seasonings at the end. Next time I will add less broth or some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was tasty, but I'd prefer a recipe with less carrot. The carrots are good, but I'd prefer a straight up beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made this recipe three times now. I did mix the cheese up, sharp cheddar, swiss & monteray jack. I don't keep dry mustard, so we use spicy brown only, not the dijon+dry. The first time I made this it seemed to chunky. I take my hand/stick blender and blend the veggie mix once it is cooked, almost to a puree. A nice dark beer is perfect, we use Smithwicks. We like to serve this with beer bread! Thanks for the great recipe!! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good. Daughter used this recipe to prepare a Wisconsin dinner for a group in Japan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've had many beers cheese soups and this one gritty texture and overwhelming with mustard. Disappointing to a Wisconsin cheese lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
AMAZING! Served it for my family. It was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I love this soup!! I used Apricot Ale, which made it all the better. I also added jalapenos to make it more spicey. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and found it to be just ok. I've never had beer cheese soup before so i have nothing to compare this to but I can't figure out what all the fuss is about. It's very much like a cheese sauce with beer. There's just much better cream soups out there that have better flavor and more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe got amazing reviews from my family. I was one they told me I should definaely make again. It is important to follow the directions. Although i did good my veggies longer than stated and it took a lot longer than i thought for the milk to thicken but give it time and be sure to mix the cheese into the thickened milk mixture. I got mixed reviews with using popcorn to garnish, some people really like it while others did care for it.... Overall great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe with Guinness is criminally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States