Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and found it to be just ok. I've never had beer cheese soup before so i have nothing to compare this to but I can't figure out what all the fuss is about. It's very much like a cheese sauce with beer. There's just much better cream soups out there that have better flavor and more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe got amazing reviews from my family. I was one they told me I should definaely make again. It is important to follow the directions. Although i did good my veggies longer than stated and it took a lot longer than i thought for the milk to thicken but give it time and be sure to mix the cheese into the thickened milk mixture. I got mixed reviews with using popcorn to garnish, some people really like it while others did care for it.... Overall great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe with Guinness is criminally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I added 2 diced potatoes. Let it simmer all afternoon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup was fantastic! I agree that the veggies need to be cooked a little longer. I like cheese soup think so I only used 4 cups of cheese instead of 6 and it was still rich and flavorful. This soup was a little thin, which is exactly how I like cheese soup. I don't like to feel like I'm eating a spoon full of nacho cheese. I used an amber beer for a richer beer flavor. This is the best soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe warrants five stars, but several changes are needed. The vegetables need to be cooked much longer than stated to ensure that they are soft. Mine were diced quite small, too. Others had complained that their soup was not thick enough. I gave alot of extra time after the half and half was added while whisking at fairly high temperatures to allow the flour to thicken. The consistency of your soup depends upon this. Last, I would add more beer to achieve the desired authentic taste. You don't want to change the consistency, so I will substitute one cup of the chicken broth so I can add another cup of beer next time. The beer was barely noticeable as written and tasted more like a cheese soup. It was very tasty, so despite these changes, the recipe still deserves five stars. I also chose not to garnish with popcorn. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup is *amazing*! I added more garlic and less carrot/celery/onion. I also pureed the veggies a little with a hand blender... they came out the perfect texture! I used Stone IPA and Cabot Extra Sharp cheddar. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
yummy....rich, but oh so good...cut some calories throughout the day to enjoy this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Risingsun, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I followed my instincts and changed a few things around, which made for a successful, delicious and filling soup!! I used a full stick of butter and divided it. I put half in my stock pot, let it melt a little, then threw in all my veggies. I also added two more cloves of garlic. I omitted the hot sauce (I don't care much for the vinegary flavor of hot sauce), but I liberally sprinkled the veggies with cayenne, a touch of chili powder, paprika, kosher salt and cracked black pepper. I sauteed them for about 8 mins together. Then, I sprinkled about a Tbsp of flour across the veggies and allowed that to cook for about 4 or 5 minutes more. I poured in the beer first, so the flavor could penetrate the veggies, and let the alcohol cook off. Then I added the stock and a dash or two of worcestershire. I allowed that mixture to cook for about 30 mins. In another pan, I melted the other half of a stick of butter. I used the flower to build a roux and allowed that to brown. Then, I added the half and half, little by little, incorporating it completely into the roux. I stirred until smooth and creamy, then slowly added it to the simmering beer mixture. I added a tsp of dijon mustard, a few more splashes of Worcestershire, about a tsp of dry mustard, cayenne, salt and pepper (if needed). I let it sit on low, for about 10 more minutes just to let the flavors meld together. I served with a large crusty baguette and it filled up the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this for my friend's Oktoberfest party and it got rave reviews. As I didn't want chunky vegetables in the soup, I used a stick blender after cooking the veggies to puree. I also added probably a teaspoon or two of cider vinegar as I didn't find that the sharp cheese I used was quite sharp enough. Finally, I found that the flavor benefitted greatly from sitting overnight in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States