Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
was really good, creamy and full of flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I've heard my Wisconsin-born fiancée rave over beer cheese soup made by a friend, and I was very much looking forward to trying this recipe when I found it. Even though I added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper instead of following the directions, it still seemed extremely bland to me considering how much liquid there is. I was very disappointed with this recipe. It needed to be much thicker and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ball, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is so yummy. I enjoy using local micro brews to give it a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicous! Followed another reviewer's recommendation to puree the vegetables after they had cooked in the broth for awhile, worked great and made the soup smooth and creamy like I envision cheese soup should be! Reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really good. I used it as my base recipe and made lots of changes. First of all, I made a much smaller quantity. Didn't measure anything, just eye balled it. I simplified the cooking method by simmering the carrots, onions and celery with about 4 cups of chicken stock and 2 bottles of beer until it was reduced by half (45 mins). Then I added 1 cup half and half and a few tblsp flour. Brought to a boil to thicken, and then added about 3 cups of grated cheddar, and a cup of small broccoli flowerettes. This was delish, I will for sure made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
A wholesome soup that's delicious! Didn't change a thing to the recipe and it turned out great. For added punch and colour, sprinkle Paprika powder over soup just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This soup had a great flavor, but wasn't as smooth and creamy as I would of liked it. I did use a immersion blender to try smooth it out a bit, but it still was a little on the chunky side. I left out the dijon, used just 1 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce, and used vegetable stock instead of chicken. We used a local oatmeal stout that worked very well in this soup. Thanks for the great recipe I will be making it again, but maybe using less vegetables next time to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
As a Wisconsin native, I was so excited to see this recipe and made it for the Super Bowl. My entire family was extremely disappointed. It was not creamy at all and the taste was rather bitter which probably was as much a result of the type of beer used. I could have overcome that if the texture was creamy and thicker. Won't make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States