Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
my husband and I both loved this soup and will make again. It is great on those very cold WI winter days/night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was the first Beer Cheese soup I've ever made. It was delicious and didn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The flavor is great. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the advice of other reviewers and sautéed the veggies first, upped the butter to 1/2 cup, then added the flour, followed by the liquids. 4 cups of half and half seemed like a lot, so I added only 2 cups to start, and 2 cups was plenty. IMHO, the broth would have been far too runny and the flavor of the broth diluted with the extra half and half. I used Negra Modelo for the beer, and I liked it. Another reviewer mentioned adding bratwurst, which I think would be a really good addition. I would make it again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I lived in Wisconsin for a few years and grew very attached to the good cheese in the state. But now that I live in Indiana I have to put meat and potatoes into any soup. I made this with bacon and potatoes and it was delicious.I cooked the veggies with the bacon adding the chicken stock and beer and simmered longer than 12 minutes. To the combined cheese, veggie, and bacon mixture I added potatoes at the end and cooked another 20 minutes on a simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It's okay, wasn't what I was expecting, but it still tastes good. If I make it again, I will likely omit the mustards and the Worcestershire sauce. I like my beer cheese soup to predominantly taste like beer and cheese, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Ok this recipe is really good. I used Tillamook extra sharp cheddar which was worth a little extra $. I also sautéed the vegetables for about 30 minutes to make softer. Quite easy and excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shabby
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Jillian styled the veggies, and topped with homemade garlic bread croutons and green onions. Super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe before amd its so good. It reminds me of the beer cheese soup I've had when I was a kid in North Dakota. Thanks for sharing it. I do make a small change though, before I add the beer mixture to the cheese mixture I purree it so it makes for a very smooth beer cheese soup. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Was very tasty. I used a Magic Hat #9. I would have liked a little more beer taste, so maybe I should use a stronger beer. But overall great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States