Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First time making. Recipe is easy and tasty but I didn't think it was as creamy or as hearty as I felt it should be. I added some cubed potatoes and about 1/2 cup of parm cheese and I did add a bit extra flour to thicken up more. Served with garlic cheese croutons and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Although I've tweaked this recipe somewhat, the original is good. I used Rickards Red beer and added Franks Red Hot sauce at the end to give it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I'm a Wisconsin girl, born and raised, and I liked this soup a lot. It's not the best Beer Cheese Soup I've ever had, but it was pretty close to right. I did as others have suggested and made mine all in one pot, and sweated the veggies until they were VERY soft. I used a good sharp Wisconsin cheddar and one of my favorite Wisconsin beers - Ale Asylum's Ambergeddon - and the flavors really shone through. I skipped the popcorn entirely though, since I always prefer a soft pretzel with my Beer Cheese Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I make this every year for our St. Patrick's Day party and have to make more every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
my husband and I both loved this soup and will make again. It is great on those very cold WI winter days/night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was the first Beer Cheese soup I've ever made. It was delicious and didn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The flavor is great. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the advice of other reviewers and sautéed the veggies first, upped the butter to 1/2 cup, then added the flour, followed by the liquids. 4 cups of half and half seemed like a lot, so I added only 2 cups to start, and 2 cups was plenty. IMHO, the broth would have been far too runny and the flavor of the broth diluted with the extra half and half. I used Negra Modelo for the beer, and I liked it. Another reviewer mentioned adding bratwurst, which I think would be a really good addition. I would make it again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I lived in Wisconsin for a few years and grew very attached to the good cheese in the state. But now that I live in Indiana I have to put meat and potatoes into any soup. I made this with bacon and potatoes and it was delicious.I cooked the veggies with the bacon adding the chicken stock and beer and simmered longer than 12 minutes. To the combined cheese, veggie, and bacon mixture I added potatoes at the end and cooked another 20 minutes on a simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It's okay, wasn't what I was expecting, but it still tastes good. If I make it again, I will likely omit the mustards and the Worcestershire sauce. I like my beer cheese soup to predominantly taste like beer and cheese, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States