Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This soup was great. I have tried other recipes for this soup but this is the one I am keeping. I used milk instead of cream and ommited the popcorn. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Wow! This recipe is amazing! It makes a large pot of soup but I'm sure you can half it. I used Obsidian Stout beer and it gave it a LOT of flavor. Deeee-licious! I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I'm also a Wisconsin native, and have had my share of Beer Cheese Soup around this fair state. This one just didn't do it for me - mainly because it just wasn't rich and creamy. The rest of the family enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Outstanding recipe!! We planned on making enough to freeze for a cold day but it was all finished by the lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonnyd523

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This soup is delicious! Instead of adding carrots and celery, we added broccoli because that's what we had on hand. We used sweet & spicy mustard as well as whiskey mustard along with a couple of different kinds of cheddar cheese and nut brown ale. Turned out great - we even loved the popcorn (don't knock it until you try it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is the first beer cheese soup I have tried to make and it turned out great! I've had differant varieties of it at differant Super Bowl parties over the years and Have always enjoyed it. The only thing I did a little differant is I grilled some Brats untill well done and smokey then ground them up and put them in the soup. It was AWESOME! Go Seahawks!! Also used a little more cheese + one cup of shredded parmigon chese and a bout 2 bottles of henrys fall lager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I liked it, my hubby and stepson didn't unfortunately. I added bacon to mine (along w/the bacon drippings) for a little more flavor. And I made it w/my hubby's homemade porter - yum! If I were to make again, I would strain the celery and carrots out, I think. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot, though some of my family felt that the beer flavor was too overpowering. It wasn't as creamy as most beer cheese soups I've had, but still enjoyable. Make sure you use a very flavorful cheese - I blended extra sharp white cheddar, sharp cheddar and cheddar and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Every bite of this soup was wounderful beyond words. Try it, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My husband and I did not like this at all. It had a very overwhelming mustard taste and an unnaturally powerful cheese taste. The texture was okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States