Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I make this at home and for my coworkers all the time, we love it. Here's how I make it. I use an Alaskan Amber beer, half and half for sure, and for the shredded cheeses I use 3 cups aged sharp cheddar cheese 1 1/2 cups havarti and 1 1/2 cups gruyere cheese (ok probably a little more) and lastly instead of popcorn on top, add fully cooked sliced andouille sausage to add a little more spice and smokey flavor then usually put it in a crock pot to stay warm for work. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
- garlic cloves. 3x Tabasco. 2 cups of beer=1 bottle of Heineken. Makes 4-6 big bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! We vacation in Wisconsin a few times each year for the past 25 years so we feel like almost-natives. Looking forward to developing a lightened-up version so we can justify making this a lot more often! We'll save the full-flavor version from "Savvyhostess" for those Bears vs. Green Bay games! Go Bears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I am a former Wisconsin native, too, and really love a good beer cheese soup. This recipe was excellent. I was worried, however, that the carrots & celery would be undercooked and make the soup too chunky, so I boiled them until about three-quarters-soft. I also sauteed the onions in butter & olive oil along with some bacon until they were tender. Cooled all the veggies then put them in a food processor until they were "bits and pieces". (I had also added the hot pepper sauce, cayenne, Worcestershire, dry mustard, salt and pepper into the food processor.) I added the seasoned vegetable mixture to a saucepan along with the beer (Miller Lite, of course - it's either that or Leine's!) and reduced sodium chicken broth. Boiled that mixture up while working on the flour/butter/half & half. It seemed to be easier to make each of these components separately, and the soup turned out brilliantly. I let it simmer a lot longer, probably about 30 minutes, to thicken and let that delicious aroma permeate my kitchen. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Super easy to make and scrumptious. Being a Wisconsinite I naturally added a bit more cheese. I also added a little bit of Red Hot Buffalo sauce in addition to the regular hot sauce, gave it a bit more zing. We used New Glarus Spotted Cow for the beer, worked really well! Next time might add some cooked brats for even more of a Wisco vibe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Not sure how this was supposed to taste...mine came out rather bitter. I'll try making it again and not putting in the dry mustard and maybe use a lighter beer? Also, trying to get the ingredients together and follow instructions on an ipad is a pain in the butt...could have been the formatting on the ipad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This soup is very good and very easy to make. It had little too much mustard for our liking, but that is an easy fix for next time and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
There's a major flaw with this recipe. It calls for "beer". There are dozens of styles of beer, this recipe needs to be more specific to be successful. I used a homebrewed porter; unfortunately, the beer flavor completely overwhelmed all of the other flavors. This soup would have been a lot tastier with a lighter beer, I wish I had known that before I made a huge pot... disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
You HAVE to be kidding me! This was AWESOME soup! It could have been the cheese we used (smokey cheddar and some habanero cheddar. Light beer cuz that's what we had. I cooked this low and slow and changed up the order of the directions. It was a wonderful recipe...thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very good! I followed the recipe pretty closely as far as ingredients go, only adding a bit of swiss and an Irish cheddar to the regular cheddar. I took the advice of previous raters and changed up the directions. I sauteed the carrots, celery, onions and garlic in the butter, then added the broth and let it simmer for 20 minutes. Then I added the beer. I mixed the salt, pepper, cayenne, dry mustard and flour together and slowly sprinkled while stirring it into the vegetable-broth-beer-mixture. Then I reduced the heat and stirred in the half and half, then added the cheese. I put Tabasco and Sriracha Chili Sauce on the table for guests to add to their own tastes. My sister mentioned that maybe some of the raters are having difficulty with consistency because they may be using store-bought pre-shredded cheese rather than shredding it themselves. There could be an anti-caking agent in the pre-shredded cheeses that is causing the cheese not to melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States