Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made it the day before Christmas and served it on Christmas day for the soup course of our dinner. As others noted, it reheated beautifully. My notes: I shred my veggies in a food processor to make them smaller and to speed up the prep process. I also used an immersion blender to make the veggies even more fine for serving. There was lots of texture, but no big lumps of veggie. I thickened the soup the next day with more roux and added more salt, pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce to enhance the flavor to my palate. EVERYONE RAVED!! Best cheese soup I've made. I will keep this recipe in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yum! This soup turned out thick & flavorful for me. I took everyone else's advice & sauteed the veggies in the butter first thing. I then added the flour & made a nice roux. I gradually added the broth, beer & other ingredients (except the dairy). I simmered it all for about 20 min, then added the milk & cheese, stirring constantly at med heat. It thickened up nicely & was fantastic w/nice fresh rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Adjusted the recipe for 20 servings. Didn't deviate from the instructions, and found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great flavor- I followed the recipe and advice of others- made sure the vegetables were soft- pureed them, used good block cheese- cooked cheese at low temp- still a bit of a texture issue but not enough to hinder me from making it again. Served it with Chef John's San Francisco bagles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I'm in Green Bay, waiting for the Packer game to start and my husband just made this. It is devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Outstanding. i used 2 cups of Mexican cheese mix and 4 cups of shedded cheddar. The Mexican cheese mix gave it some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Sooooooooooooo good! It was a little thin but the taste made up for it. The veggies were a little chrunchy at first but I made the soup and then moved it to a crock pot and let it cook on low for a few hours, still waiting to see if that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I make this at home and for my coworkers all the time, we love it. Here's how I make it. I use an Alaskan Amber beer, half and half for sure, and for the shredded cheeses I use 3 cups aged sharp cheddar cheese 1 1/2 cups havarti and 1 1/2 cups gruyere cheese (ok probably a little more) and lastly instead of popcorn on top, add fully cooked sliced andouille sausage to add a little more spice and smokey flavor then usually put it in a crock pot to stay warm for work. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
- garlic cloves. 3x Tabasco. 2 cups of beer=1 bottle of Heineken. Makes 4-6 big bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! We vacation in Wisconsin a few times each year for the past 25 years so we feel like almost-natives. Looking forward to developing a lightened-up version so we can justify making this a lot more often! We'll save the full-flavor version from "Savvyhostess" for those Bears vs. Green Bay games! Go Bears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States