Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
As a Wisconsin native, I was so excited to see this recipe and made it for the Super Bowl. My entire family was extremely disappointed. It was not creamy at all and the taste was rather bitter which probably was as much a result of the type of beer used. I could have overcome that if the texture was creamy and thicker. Won't make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This soup was outstanding (not a calorie in it, of course). I followed the instructions exactly. The beer I used was Alaskan White. I made this soup for the Super Bowl party. Everyone loved it. Not a drop was left by the end of the party. Everyone thought it was funny to put popcorn in the soup, but we all did it anyway. A good time was had by all, and the Wisconsin team won.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outrider
Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this for a Green Bay Super Bowl party and thought it was just perfect. I did go with 2 c chicken broth and 3 c beer, and equal parts milk and half and half, but I think following the recipe exactly would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I halved the recipe because I was preparing this for only two people. I used half and half which I think resulted in a creamier soup base. I used a pale lager for the beer. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I cooked the veggies in butter instead of simmering in broth. I also used a mix of colby jack, a bit of leftover Velveeta from a previous meal, and Pinconning. Used Guinness beer. This is my go-to beer cheese soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Everyone loved it! I used a brown ale. I simmered the vegetables until they were soft like I like them. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I just finished making this soup for the Super Bowl. It tastes great although I have nothing to compare it to. It could use a little more beer flavor so next time I think I will add more beer and less chicken stock. We'll see how the party likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used dark beer, sharp white cheddar and regular sharp cheddar, veggie stock, and extra salt, it really needed the salt for some reason. I used my hand blender to make it smooth and served it with beer bread. My southerner hubby loved it, I will mae it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We made this soup for a Packer's party last weekend. It was the hit of the party. It has a good balance between cheesy, beery and veggy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is now a staple at our Christmas dinner!!! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States