Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I halved the recipe because I was preparing this for only two people. I used half and half which I think resulted in a creamier soup base. I used a pale lager for the beer. Thanks for sharing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I cooked the veggies in butter instead of simmering in broth. I also used a mix of colby jack, a bit of leftover Velveeta from a previous meal, and Pinconning. Used Guinness beer. This is my go-to beer cheese soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Everyone loved it! I used a brown ale. I simmered the vegetables until they were soft like I like them. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I just finished making this soup for the Super Bowl. It tastes great although I have nothing to compare it to. It could use a little more beer flavor so next time I think I will add more beer and less chicken stock. We'll see how the party likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used dark beer, sharp white cheddar and regular sharp cheddar, veggie stock, and extra salt, it really needed the salt for some reason. I used my hand blender to make it smooth and served it with beer bread. My southerner hubby loved it, I will mae it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We made this soup for a Packer's party last weekend. It was the hit of the party. It has a good balance between cheesy, beery and veggy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is now a staple at our Christmas dinner!!! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
added bacon and an extra bottle of beer just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'd been craving a good beer cheese soup & this was just the ticket. It turned out perfect as written!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I found this recipe on here 3 years ago and have been making it ever since. It's delicious. I have discovered a few things that make it a little easier and a more rounded meal. First, don't use preshredded cheese-the chemicals they put on the preshredded keep it from melting into the mixture smoothly. Second, cook the vegetables much longer than the recipe says, I cook until soft, however long it takes. And last, I add lots of chopped broccoli (and/or cauliflower) and slices of smoked sausage. In addition, I don't care for spicy hot things at all, so I omit the hot pepper sauce and the cayenne pepper - I get a whole lot more of the other flavors this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States