Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Unlike many people that review recipes, I made this one just like it said and it was wonderful! I took it to a church potluck and it quickly dissapeared! The ricotta and Italian seasoning really made this a great dish- I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
LOVED IT!! Made it for my boyfriend and his roomate. They both had 3 helpings...needless to say they enjoyed it as well. I would have made it as is, but i wanted some cheddar in this dish in a bad way. I substituted the swiss for sharp cheddar and used dried parsley and it turned out amazing!! I also added extra cheese to the top for that extra crisp top!! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was so good. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised the this version of macaroni. (I'm always struggling to find a really good mac and cheese recipe.) I used monterey jack cheese instead of provolone just cause that's what I had. Also, did not have heavy cream...instead made a roux with butter flour and milk. I combined butter and homemade bread crumbs from a regular loaf of bread and spread them on top of the dish before baking. This was so delicious! Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
VERY GOOD!!! i did however wanted a little more edge so i took the prov. cheese out and put extra sharp white cheddar... very good substitution! i made it with some wings i like to make and it was a total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I love pasta and love cheese, so I figured this one would be excellent with my love of cheese. My husband and I thought it was very dry and bland. I was shocked, i wanted the cheese to be melting in your mouth and I found myself putting a ton of salt on it to get some taste. To bad, it looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I like the cheesiness of the recipe, I'll add more sour cream & ricotta the next time. also I used Parmesan, mozzarella & cheddar cheese. Will have to get to the grocery before the deli closes to get shredded provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlyn22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Yummy! It's a little dry, but I like the chewiness of the cheese. Next time I will probably add a little more cream than the recipe states. The Italian seasoning give it an interesting taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My husband thought this was absolutely fantastic!! If you do not love cheese this is not the recipe for you. Had to make a couple adjustments because of the things I had on hand. Used 1 cup each of the following cheeses: Swiss, mozzarella, parmesean, provolone, cheddar, and farmers cheese. Had to leave out the ricotta b/c my husband doesn't care for it. Also added italian bread crumbs to the top while I broiled it. This tastes exactly like cheesy breadsticks. My kids could not get enough of it! Thanks for the great recipe. I think I'm going to have to make this and bring it to my grandma's for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is an amazing base recipe. I have made variations on this several times (the original was a little bland for me). All my family and friends are mac & cheese lovers and this recipe seems to come out on top out of all the ones I have tried. I change up the cheeses and use whatever cheese appeals to me on that day/whatever is in the fridge, usually starting with a six-cheese Italian blend and a sharp cheddar. I sometimes will grate in some extra-sharp cheddar as well. Some asiago gives it some nice kick. I have used Monterey Jack as well. All in all, I try to get about 6 cups of shredded cheese in there (2 more cups than the recipe specifies) to make it super gooey and cheesy. To the ricotta mixture (the genius part of this recipe that makes it so creamy and wonderful), I throw in a little cayenne pepper, as well as extra amounts of the other seasonings to my taste. I omit the parsley and grind in a little salt and pepper. I have also substituted plain greek yogurt for the sour cream. On top, I throw some plain or Italian panko and an additional layer of cheese. Delicious!!! Oh, and I also use cavatappi or cellentani instead of the elbows, but that's pure preference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was pretty awesome! :) I didn't care for the Italian herbs, garlic, and parsley, so the next time I make it I'll exclude that. I also mixed some breadcrumbs in the topping which made it nice and crunchy on top. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Easy BBQ Bake

A perfect recipe for indoor BBQ chicken.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States