Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was ok. I was looking for a easier mac n cheese recipe and this one is pretty easy but I found it a little bland. I may try it again but I might add some hot sauce to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe states with the exception of adding garlic bread crumbs to the top before baking. My husband and I LOVED it. We will certainly be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AundreaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This IS NOT a Mac and cheese recipe. If you keep that in mind, you may like it. I followed recipe exactly as written. Flavor was awesome. More of a pizza kind of cheese flavor. It is not creamy, find another Mac and cheese recipe for creamy. That said, it is good, texture is Mac with stringy mozerella inside, hard to explain, but it is more of a casserole.wonderful flavor, cheesy cheesy like pizza cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
this is such a good recipe. i seriously modified it to cut back on fat and calories, and it was still really good - that says a lot!! my changes were: to use whole wheat rotini, low fat mozz, low fat ched, low fat mont jax, fat free parm, and low fat velveeta. instead of the ricotta and sour cream i used fat free greek yogurt, and subbed skim milk for the cream. with all of these changes, it was still creamy, rich, and very cheesy. i also changed my cooking style for this because i was bringing it to an early morning potluck. i cooked the noodles, and mixed the remaining ingredients together in my slow cooker. i refrigeratedit overnight, then the next morning put the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. it was hot and bubbbly in time for everyone to eat. and it was GONE at the end! thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This didn't taste bad but it was on the dry side. I even added more sour cream and heavy cream than the recipe calls for. I was looking for something much creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was so good. Didn't have ricotta so added all sour cream. And used light 1/2 &1/2 instead of cream. Added a little mustard. Very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe than can easily be adapted to individual taste or to compliment another dish. You can play with the cheese as long as you keep the quantity equal. It is a bit dry, so we increased the ricotta to 3/4 cup and doubled the sour cream. We used fat free half and half - also doubled - and it turns out very yummy, cheesy and it doesn't last long when served. Since we increased the liquid parts, we increased the parsley to 1 1/2 T and doubled the Italian seasoning and garlic salt. AGAIN, the best thing about this recipe is its versitility. Play with the ingredients until you find your perfect flavor. You will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concordia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe I failed horribly LOL it was hard and chunky and messy... Instead: I substituted the Swiss for Asiago, and the sour cream for the Philly Onion & Chive flavored cream chees. Then I made it more creamy by adding 2 cups of cream instead of 1/2C and also added 1/2 stick of butter. And much more of the garlic & other spices. also sprinkled some bread crumbs on top...It came out awesome!! It became more of an Italian garlic mac'n cheese/pasta dish...but its super YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The texture of this dish was not at all the cheesy gooey I was hoping for. My husband who will eat anything didn't care for it even. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Fantastic!!! used 1 cup smoked swiss, 2 cups mozzerella, 1 cup parm-reggiano. Doubled sour cream and ricotta. Baked at 350 30 min or til bubbly at edges. One of the creamiest I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States