Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A few simple changes easily elevated this 3-star recipe to 4-stars, and darned near to perfect. To begin with, as I was measuring out the carrots, I stopped at about 1/4 cup, thinking that using a full cup of carrots would be waaaaay too much. I filled the remainder of the 1-cup measuring cup with celery and we loved the addition/substitution. With not much in the way of diverse and complex flavors going on here, I thought it was important to make the very most of the flavors I DID have - namely, substituting a good chicken broth for the water and chicken bouillion called for and adding fresh minced garlic to the onions as they were being sweated out. Finely, while straight Cheddar is inarguably the best for flavor, replacing half of it with processed cheese (i.e. Velveeta) ensures a rich creaminess that is virtually guaranteed not to break down and separate. Several good shakes of salt and freshly ground pepper and we were rewarded with a rich, creamy, flavorful and comforting broccoli cheese soup. I garnished it with a crostini topped with a sprinkle of grated Cheddar cheese and a tiny broccoli floret. This, along with "Greek Chicken Wraps," also from this site, was a nourishing, easy, and laid back supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love the fact that it doesn't use "processed cheese food" as that is just wrong. Anyway, yummy! A few changes: I was out of carrots, though I didn't miss them I'm sure they would have added a great flavor. I used homemade chicken stock instead of boullion. I also used my immersion blender to blend the broccoli/stock mixture. Lastly, after reading the reviews that it was too thick, I used equal amount of chicken stock and milk and the consistency was perfect. I will make this again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is absolutely the best cheese soup recipe I have ever tried. It is incredibly good by itself but especially good with a crusty bread. I have made it with celery instead of broccoli and if anything, it's better. My whole family raves about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Great soup. It uses common ingredients and is fairly simple and quick to make. It didn't taste much like cheese (I didn't use sharp; sharp recomended), but it was still very good. I used 1 bouillon cube instead of the 1 tsp granuals. This recipe is also very adaptable. I have substituted potatoes and celery for the broccoli and left out the cheese to make a wonderful potato soup. Add a can of minced clams for clam chowder. Plus, it is easy to adjust the yield; simply add more vegetables, bouillon, and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Ah, when company shows up unnanounced and you scramble to make something delicious out of pantry/fridge staples. :) This simple recipe is great without revisions. As I do with nearly all cheese dishes, I added about 2 tbsp. hot sauce - LOVE the flavor of hot sauce with extra-sharp cheddar. I also love that this recipes uses real cheese instead of processed. If there are concerns about texture breakdown, whisking the cheese in gradually instead of adding all at once ensures a perfectly smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is simply the best cheese soup recipe I have ever had. Instead of chicken broth I use vegetable broth (ovo-lacto vegetarian) and it is incredibly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
FINALLY! Cheese soup that isn't overwhelmed with bacon or ham or peppers and actually tastes like cheese! This is so very good and easy. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was really good. I added 1/2 pound of bacon, used bacon grease instead of butter, celery instead of broccoli, and added 1/4 tsp dry mustard. I served it in bread bowls and got great reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I read the recipe and the reviews, then tried it myself. It was just as delicious and easy and everyone said. Waitimg for Fall to make it again and again and again. Thank you Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Thick and rich! Very good flavor--I used sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States