Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I thought this was a good base recipe. I did however make a few changes. 1. I added 1/4 cup chopped celery to the saute and shredded the carrots 2. I doubled the broccoli 3. I added a 1/8 cup more of flour 4. I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon and actually used 4 cups of the liquid 5. I used 1 cup sharp cheddar along with 1 cup of velveeta 6. I added 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg (I know it sounds weird but when adding nutmeg to broccoli dishes it adds just that extra bit of something. It doesn't taste like nutmeg but you just have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Yum yum yum! I added red bell peppers to the veggies when boiling in the first step. Everything else the same, except my family loves black pepper so I added more than called for. It turned out fabulous! My mom is still asking me to make it again and again!! Mmmmm Mmmmm Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Downey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chavez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
very east and good base recipe. It definately vould benefit from more seasoning of some sort. I added extra water to the veggies when cooking. Overall good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good soup, I added celery and served with toasted Italian bread for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yummy! So easy and delicious. Will definitely make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
It's good, but I feel that it needs some added spices -- I'm just not sure what. I added garlic, Adobo salt, marjoram and a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Very good. My husband and I enjoy this soup for lunch on cold days. I always serve it with homemade garlic and cheese bread. I love the fact that it has added veggies to it and is not just cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I added flour near the end to try to thicken it up and the texture turned out a little grainy like. I don't know if that was from the flour or if the cheese seperated. It was good though, but I thought it would be a little more flavorful. I will try it again, but add some more chicken broth or something next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Used one cup chicken broth instead of bouillon. Otherwise followed exactly then used hand blender just to make for a thicker consistency. (Did not grind up everything, so still chunky.) The cheese taste was just right, not overwhelming. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States