Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups, the proportions are perfect. Don't use anything but SHARP cheddar, and fresh broccoli is nicer than using frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Being a WI girl, I had to try this. I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over cooked broccoli that I had in the frig, and this was perfect. I, too, like that it didn't use processed cheese (something is just not right about that stuff). This took about 20 minutes to make, and it made exactly enough for the four of us for dinner tonight. Bought some crusty french bread this morning that will go great with this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This soup was super easy.....Not like St.Louis Bread Co. soup, but close to it. I used the california mixed veggies instead of just broccoli and carrots to make it heartier. This I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugafree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Needs more salt & broccoli. Used good home-made stock for base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Good soup. My family enjoyed it. I used skim milk and reduced fat cheddar cheese. Didn't come out as creamy as I had hoped probably because of the cheese but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I thought this soup was really good. I added about 1/4 tsp of nutmeg but I think I would add a little more next time and I would definitely add more veggies, as it really didn't call for enough. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I added garlic and 2 cups broth/2 cups milk (as was recommended) and substituted mushrooms for carrots. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I thought this was a good base recipe. I did however make a few changes. 1. I added 1/4 cup chopped celery to the saute and shredded the carrots 2. I doubled the broccoli 3. I added a 1/8 cup more of flour 4. I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon and actually used 4 cups of the liquid 5. I used 1 cup sharp cheddar along with 1 cup of velveeta 6. I added 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg (I know it sounds weird but when adding nutmeg to broccoli dishes it adds just that extra bit of something. It doesn't taste like nutmeg but you just have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Yum yum yum! I added red bell peppers to the veggies when boiling in the first step. Everything else the same, except my family loves black pepper so I added more than called for. It turned out fabulous! My mom is still asking me to make it again and again!! Mmmmm Mmmmm Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rapinka82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States