Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Sooo good. We have made a lot of different variations of broccoli cheese soup, but this is by far the best. We had a party on Halloween and one of the last guests to leave was drinking pretty heavily. We gave this to him to help sober up. A few weeks ago he told us it was the best soup he ever had (nearly 6 months later)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOCHOCOBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not like this soup. It didn't taste like the wisconsin cheese soup that I'm use to. Ya its quick and easy to make. There were a few things that I would have done different when I made it. I would have gradually added the cheese and not cooked it on such a high heat either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good! Came out a little thin and the vegetables were too crunchy for my liking. Would cook them a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was super easy and fast to make. Tasted really good. Replaced half of the carrot with celery. I feel like this needs beer in it, just because it has Wisconsin in its name. Maybe I will try steaming the veggies with a bottle of Spotted Cow next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Simple, quick, and delicious! I added a chicken bouillon cube to my own homemade veggie stock and used a mix of sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheeses. I was pleasantly surprised how nicely this soup came together. Easy and it's homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I pureed everything. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent soup AS IS!!!! I have made it several times just as the recipe states and it is one of my FAVORITE soups on this site. I have also simply added 1/4 cups chopped celery to it with a little more water and it's delicious as well. Delicious with a perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHALLOWS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Ah, when company shows up unnanounced and you scramble to make something delicious out of pantry/fridge staples. :) This simple recipe is great without revisions. As I do with nearly all cheese dishes, I added about 2 tbsp. hot sauce - LOVE the flavor of hot sauce with extra-sharp cheddar. I also love that this recipes uses real cheese instead of processed. If there are concerns about texture breakdown, whisking the cheese in gradually instead of adding all at once ensures a perfectly smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a good recipe but may need to be thinned out a bit. Be SURE to use a very good quality SHARP cheddar cheese, it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A few simple changes easily elevated this 3-star recipe to 4-stars, and darned near to perfect. To begin with, as I was measuring out the carrots, I stopped at about 1/4 cup, thinking that using a full cup of carrots would be waaaaay too much. I filled the remainder of the 1-cup measuring cup with celery and we loved the addition/substitution. With not much in the way of diverse and complex flavors going on here, I thought it was important to make the very most of the flavors I DID have - namely, substituting a good chicken broth for the water and chicken bouillion called for and adding fresh minced garlic to the onions as they were being sweated out. Finely, while straight Cheddar is inarguably the best for flavor, replacing half of it with processed cheese (i.e. Velveeta) ensures a rich creaminess that is virtually guaranteed not to break down and separate. Several good shakes of salt and freshly ground pepper and we were rewarded with a rich, creamy, flavorful and comforting broccoli cheese soup. I garnished it with a crostini topped with a sprinkle of grated Cheddar cheese and a tiny broccoli floret. This, along with "Greek Chicken Wraps," also from this site, was a nourishing, easy, and laid back supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States