Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good. I used a bit more brocolli. The soup is pretty thick, so I added a little milk at the end to thin it down a little. Next time I will probably double the water and bouillon (since I add more brocolli). Flavor was great. I made garden salads to go along with it, and warm crusty bread. My 3 year old and husband loved this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Sooo good. We have made a lot of different variations of broccoli cheese soup, but this is by far the best. We had a party on Halloween and one of the last guests to leave was drinking pretty heavily. We gave this to him to help sober up. A few weeks ago he told us it was the best soup he ever had (nearly 6 months later)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOCHOCOBO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I did not like this soup. It didn't taste like the wisconsin cheese soup that I'm use to. Ya its quick and easy to make. There were a few things that I would have done different when I made it. I would have gradually added the cheese and not cooked it on such a high heat either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good! Came out a little thin and the vegetables were too crunchy for my liking. Would cook them a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was super easy and fast to make. Tasted really good. Replaced half of the carrot with celery. I feel like this needs beer in it, just because it has Wisconsin in its name. Maybe I will try steaming the veggies with a bottle of Spotted Cow next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Simple, quick, and delicious! I added a chicken bouillon cube to my own homemade veggie stock and used a mix of sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheeses. I was pleasantly surprised how nicely this soup came together. Easy and it's homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I pureed everything. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent soup AS IS!!!! I have made it several times just as the recipe states and it is one of my FAVORITE soups on this site. I have also simply added 1/4 cups chopped celery to it with a little more water and it's delicious as well. Delicious with a perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Hallows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Ah, when company shows up unnanounced and you scramble to make something delicious out of pantry/fridge staples. :) This simple recipe is great without revisions. As I do with nearly all cheese dishes, I added about 2 tbsp. hot sauce - LOVE the flavor of hot sauce with extra-sharp cheddar. I also love that this recipes uses real cheese instead of processed. If there are concerns about texture breakdown, whisking the cheese in gradually instead of adding all at once ensures a perfectly smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a good recipe but may need to be thinned out a bit. Be SURE to use a very good quality SHARP cheddar cheese, it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States