Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great soup, especially for cold weather. Recommend that you chop vegies fairly small so they fit on spoon nicely. DON'T use low-fat or non-fat cheese; they don't melt right and you'll get a mess. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the liquid. Instead of 2 cups milk, I added 1 can chicken broth and 1 cup evaporated milk. Very smooth and satisfying soup. Thank you, Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very quick, very tasty. Added more broccoli and omitted carrots, because I was looking for a broccoli cheese soup that did NOT call for processed cheese, this was perfect! Will probably add a bit more salt/spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. I omitted the carrots & increased the broccoli to 3 cups. Otherwise followed exactly & it turned out great, everyone loved it and my neighbor asked for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love the fact that it doesn't use "processed cheese food" as that is just wrong. Anyway, yummy! A few changes: I was out of carrots, though I didn't miss them I'm sure they would have added a great flavor. I used homemade chicken stock instead of boullion. I also used my immersion blender to blend the broccoli/stock mixture. Lastly, after reading the reviews that it was too thick, I used equal amount of chicken stock and milk and the consistency was perfect. I will make this again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this recipe without the carrots and added lots of garlic powder. I didn't particularly like the soup but my husband did and said he would have given it five stars, except that he didn't like the texture of the broccoli in the soup. I may try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was so yummy and easy! My husband asked me to make it 3 nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This soup is OK, but it's basically broccoli cheese soup. I like that it uses real cheese instead of Velveeta. I'd rather have had smaller pieces of broccoli and carrot, so if I make it again, I'll use matchstick cut carrots and chop the broccoli. This did NOT freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was okay. It had a gritty/rough texture to it. The soup became extremely thick shortly after it was put on the table. I will most likely never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEEBUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I'm from Wisconsin, and my mom used to make cheese soup when I was growing up I thought I'd see if there was anything else out there better, and this comes close. I like the addition of the broccoli (mom wasn't big on veggies). I make mine a bit thinner than this one, with equal parts chicken broth and milk. To avoid the clumping of the cheese, add it very slowly and stir in gradually as it melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
everyone is right when they say this is the best cheese soup you will eat. my son ate 5 helpings at dinner and then ate the last bowl before he went to bed. he said it was the best soup he has ever eaten. i did add a few things though. i added a couple extra chicken cubes. i also added celery and blanched broccoli at the end. i sliced and pre cooked and drained of fat smoked sausage. it made a very hearty chowder on a cold night. a must to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States