Wisconsin Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Yum! I've only found one restaurant in my life that serves what I consider "authentic" wisconsin cheese soup - this recipe came very, very close. I substituted a bit (3/4 cup?) of the chicken broth with beer. That made it almost indistinguishable from the restaurant one that I remember. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Were it not for the green pepper, I would have enjoyed this soup a lot more and rated it even higher. I like green pepper, but it was too prominent in what is a mild-flavored soup. I added 1/2 cup of Guiness Draught, but I don't think that necessarily made this any better - this soup would have been good with or without it. For the record, Hubs disagreed with me on the green pepper thing, even suggesting it only added to the "Green and Gold." (okaaaay...) To ensure the cheese doesn't curdle or separate, remove the soup from the heat before stirring it in, slowly and gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This soup is so good! The only thing that I did differently was to add bacon instead of ham and I also used a little bit more cheese! (I love cheese) Our family makes soup every Sunday for a quick easy dinner. This soup will definately be one of the recipies that we will use often! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Must add a great beer (I used Honey Weiss) or pale ale to be a true Wisconsin cheese soup!!!! (substitute some of the chicken broth for the beer) Also, because of a corn allergy in our family I used 1 medium mashed potato with potato water and flour to help thicken and left out the cornstarch. I also substituted the milk for half and half. Higher calorie count but richer and heavier flavor like a Cheesehead would want it! Go Packers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjohnsonwi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This was wonderful. I put the veggies and ham through my food chopper so they were grated and blended very well. I will make adjustments to flour and cornstarch next time as we like a thicker soup. I also added about 4 oz of velveeta type cheese. This is so good! I think I will go make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great soup, I added about 4 oz of Velvetta for more of a cheese taste. Exactly the taste I was searching for. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
There is a restaurant near my house that serves a great Wisconsin cheese soup. My wife wants me to make one like it, this was not it. It was to bland for her and she loves bland food. There was not much of a cheese flavor. If I had the desire I think I could make this more to my taste, however, I think going with another recipe will be easier and ultimately better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
It was better as a leftover! We weren't wild about it the first night but it got better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a decent starting point. I would definately cook the veggies longer. And I used extra paprika and wasn't afraid of some salt and pepper. I also used 4 cups of cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We all loved this soup. The kids all rated it 5000 stars. Made it exactly as the recipe stated, but was sure to chop everything very small, especially the green pepper so the kids wouldn't balk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States