Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
If you want to smother your brats with barbeque sauce, mustard, and sauerkraut to kill the taste, this recipe is o.k. I'm 100% German, eat brats once a week - but I like the natural flavor of fresh brats. It's actually the poking of the brats with a fork that wrecks this recipe. It dries out the brats and lets the natural flavors seep out. You may want to try this recipe without poking holes in the brats to keep the flavor sealed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Hubby would probably only rate this as 3-star as he is a bratwurst purist and prefers his brats slow-grilled without parboiling. Occasionally he'll agree to having this brats and beer method, which I just love. As Wisconsinites we know it's a continued debate as to which way is best. No matter which method, we also know brats to be included in nearly everyone's backyard cook-outs or Green Bay Packers or Milwaukee Brewers tailgates. You can smell it in the air! That said, don't poke the brats! Why would you do that? Also, as for keeping them on hold in a slow cooker, I see this done frequently, particularly at large gatherings, but be forewarned that the beer taste intensifies this way, kind of killing that good bratwurst flavor and softens them, taking away that juicy crunch (from the browned casing) when you bite into them. For those of you living in regions of the country where brats are not available, our Usinger's brand is WONDERFUL and can be ordered online at www.usingers.com. Good, sturdy brat buns, if you can find them in your area, are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I was having a Christmas party and wanted to do something with some frozen Johnsville Brats that were in the freezer for 4 months, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. I also did not poke holes in them, other than that I followed the recipe. After cooking the brats in the beer mixture I strained the onions and sautéed them further and then added them to a cola sauerkraut recipe found on this site. That evening my husband grilled the brats and could not stop eating them, I was afraid I would not have any left for the party the next day. He kept on saying that I must have used some very good brats! After they were grilled I cut them in half and mixed them in the cola sauerkraut. The night of the party I warmed the mixture in the microwave and the kept it warm in a chafing dish. I served fresh Italian bread cut to the size of the mini brats for those wanting to eat it on a bun. The moral of my story is the 4-month-old brats that I wanted to get rid of, turned out to be the hit of the party. I was asked over and over who made the brats. Thanks for a good recipe, I am sure I will make this many times over, I might even buy some high quality fresh brats! this was the other dish I made http://sidedish.allrecipes.com/az/ClSrkrt.asp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
this recipe is very good but i found out that if you prick your brats and soak them over night in the beer they are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Awesome brats. I made them for the Super Bowl game. After they were cooked, I put them back in the beer brine to simmer until everyone was ready to eat. I also added more onions than was called for. These were just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
These were wonderful. We had a big end of the year party this past Friday at a Boys & Girls Club where I work. Since some of the kids requested brats instead of hamburgers and hot dogs I decided to try this recipe. We had 177 kids attend ranging from age 6 to 14 years show up for the party and the brats were gone in 15 minutes. I wasn't sure how many would be ate so I only made 50, I wish I had made more. I threw them in my electric roaster with one pound of butter and eight finely sliced onions and a 12 pack of Milwaukees Best beer. I DID NOT POKE HOLES IN THE BRATS. I cooked on 300 for two hours. Then we grilled them and the kids, many who hadn't had brats loved them along with our volunteer parents. The grilled onions were also great but many of the kids wouldn't try them but the ones who did along with the parents loved them. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe. I will use this one for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is great! I add yellow and green bell peppers with the onions and beer. The best way to cook these prior to grilling is in the crock pot. Just cook on high for a couple of hours prior to grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
These are great. I love Bratwurst, but always burn mine making sure they are completely cooked on the gril. This way all you are doing is browning them as they are pre-cooked. The extra flavor is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Very tasty & tender, especially with the butchers brats! Make sure to saute up those onions, they have a great flavor! Good eats..even though I didn't have any polka music maybe next time ;) Thanks a bunch Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
These were very good. We made them for the 4th and they went quick. Everyone like them. The beer was a great touch and so was th butter. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States