Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was great! Even though I didn't have fresh Brats (used a Johnsonville beer brat), I was able to use a good lager and lots of onion!~ Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
As a German in Wisconsin, this is the only way to cook brats. Have been grilling them this way since I learned how to grill, and they're absolutely delicious. I have to say, though, that I don't prick my brats--the flavor of the beer is absorbed anyway and I've never had a brat explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
A Brat in Wisconsin is always good, but I have to agree with those against par-boiling. You wouldn't do that with anything else, why a brat? Slow cook on the grill and then place in a heated pot of beer and onions if you wish. That's especially handy if you want people to eat when they want to. They can stay on the stove for many hours in hot beer and onions and be just as good as right off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We grill the "hot and spicy" ones then simmer them in the beer and onions. Then serve with the onions and mustard. You can even use sauerkraut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Always a wisconsin favorite! I like to boil the brats with sourkraut in it too. Now that is being a true Wisconsinite. It gives the kraut a little bit of flavor. And you have to have kraut on the bun with the brat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Benton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Make sure the beer is flat, and forget the butter, everything else looks great. If you can get " Sheboygan Brats "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We grill our brats first - then simmer in beer and onions - no butter. Then a nice hot mustard to top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We LOVE our brats cooked this way! I boil mine a little longer, and reserve the beer-soaked onions from the pot to serve with the brats along with spicy brown mustard~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Maybe it was just us or because we aren't from Wisconsin but this was just no big deal. I followed the recipe with the exception of poking the brats but I didn't think there was much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
All my life I've made Brats with sauerkrat. I was looking for something different and saw this recipe doubted the amount of beer but once I started it was the right amount and I agree dont poke the brats! THE BEST brat recipe I have ever made. I have 3 grown boys and a little girl...ten was just enough but might 1 1/2 it for more since it was soooo yummy. We did NOT have left overs and if I had more in the pot..I'm sure we would still have no left overs! Thanks again for the wonderful recipe and as well as all the good pointers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gronert Pitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States