Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
YUM! My husband raved about these for days after we had them! Only thing I changed was to add some green pepper to the onion and once the brats went off to the grill, I cooked the onion and green pepper to serve on top of the brats. Great flavor! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These were pretty good. I didn't have any dark beer so I used miller lite, it's what we had. Next time I will use a darker ale in hopes of getting a more flavorful brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe. been using this for years except for the butter. I make mine in a slow cooker, then take out the ones for the children then add the beer. I would never give anyone under 15 anything that is slow cooked in beer, not all the alcohol evaperates, People that are senitive to alcohol can have a bad reaction. I always inform they are cooked in beer by placing a sign in front of them. My friend who has this problem warned me years ago that this has caused her problems in the past, she said it is mainly things that are cooked for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Add bottle small catsup to the pot, when done grilling put in rye bread hoagie rolls and add sourkraut on top and deli mustarad. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Made these for a tailgate and they were a hit. The key is to get the from a butcher. Store bought brats just won't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I don't eat brats but got some for my family and they said it was too much butter, so next time I will leave it out or not use as much. Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lov2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I especially enjoyed the onions on top of the brats (not a sauerkraut fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were pretty good. I had 1.25 lbs of sausage and used 1 tall can of beer and a large onion. I did not poke the bratwurst. I thought they were pretty good, but my hubby loved them. I would have rated 3 stars, but since my hubby loved them so much, I gave an additional star. I think I prefer the pre cooked bratwurst myself, but then, I'm a californian...lol! No offense to you wisconsinites out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was great! Even though I didn't have fresh Brats (used a Johnsonville beer brat), I was able to use a good lager and lots of onion!~ Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
As a German in Wisconsin, this is the only way to cook brats. Have been grilling them this way since I learned how to grill, and they're absolutely delicious. I have to say, though, that I don't prick my brats--the flavor of the beer is absorbed anyway and I've never had a brat explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States