Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The bratwurst were good, but I really do not think simmering them in beer, butter and onion added any flavor or changed them in any way. We will go back to putting them directly on the grill and saving the time and ingredients of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is how we do it! (Here in Wisconsin) Brats are good any way..but they're best THIS way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This got rave reviews from my guests and was gone before I could try it so I had to make it again for just my husband and me. We thought it was good but not great -- hey but you can't argue with success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Delicious, fun, easy recipe for a large and casual group! Add a few extra Brats--it is surprising how many eat more than one! I served this with the German potato salad and sauerkraut relish I made ahead of time--no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Taste was excellent, I was bummed that I used 4 bottles of beer and 1 stick of butter then didn't have anything else to do with it except throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
YUM! My husband raved about these for days after we had them! Only thing I changed was to add some green pepper to the onion and once the brats went off to the grill, I cooked the onion and green pepper to serve on top of the brats. Great flavor! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These were pretty good. I didn't have any dark beer so I used miller lite, it's what we had. Next time I will use a darker ale in hopes of getting a more flavorful brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe. been using this for years except for the butter. I make mine in a slow cooker, then take out the ones for the children then add the beer. I would never give anyone under 15 anything that is slow cooked in beer, not all the alcohol evaperates, People that are senitive to alcohol can have a bad reaction. I always inform they are cooked in beer by placing a sign in front of them. My friend who has this problem warned me years ago that this has caused her problems in the past, she said it is mainly things that are cooked for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Add bottle small catsup to the pot, when done grilling put in rye bread hoagie rolls and add sourkraut on top and deli mustarad. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Made these for a tailgate and they were a hit. The key is to get the from a butcher. Store bought brats just won't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States