Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
NEVER EVER prick the bratwurst. Recipe is fine as long as you dont do that. Been cooking them for years and never had one explode. Other than that, this method gives great flavor and allows for perfect grill time before eating. Poking holes in the brat is the mother of bad ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was fine, but I would have been just as happy grilling the bratwurst "pure".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I'm a Wisconsinite - and this is the best brat recipe! Definitely need to use Johnsonville Brats. I also simmered on the stove for a lot longer, usually about an hour or so. Definitely a must on a game day! Made for a superbowl party, and also on July 4th. Huge hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Incredible! Best Brats EVER! I never cooked them in butter before, and with the carmelized onions, simmered in beer.... WOW! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good flavor simmered in the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Ummm....good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wisconsinite all my life & raised on brats. Grandfather was a butcher & made them. Never parboiled them. May have put them in a bit of butter after cooking. Standard Sat supper. If you are from WI you ALWAYS put them in a hard roll. Sheboygan hard rolls the very best. Best hot off the grill straight to the roll, mustard, onions or whatever on top. My dad taught my husband how to grill them. Soaked in a bit of water, then on the charcoal, flareups doused with the water. Then it was all in the feel of the brat to know when they were done. Never overcooked, like we've seen some do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The bratwurst were good, but I really do not think simmering them in beer, butter and onion added any flavor or changed them in any way. We will go back to putting them directly on the grill and saving the time and ingredients of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is how we do it! (Here in Wisconsin) Brats are good any way..but they're best THIS way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States