Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wowzers! These were fantastic! Followed the directions to a T! At the end we drained the onions and used them as a topping! Super! This will be my go-to recipe for brats! Thanks. I did have to use the broiler and they turned out great! I just kept truning them and broiled them for probalby 15- 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In the past I have merely grilled the brats, then sauteed some onions and peppers to serve w/the sausages. Always turned out delicious. The technique described in this recipe raises the bar! The sausages come off the grill with a better char - must be the sugars in the beer. Whatever the reason, this is the way I'll do brats from now on. Thanks allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I never poke a brat before cooking on the grill. When you boil in beer you will draw out a lot of the fat. Cover over indirect heat and they won't pop when you cook them. For a large pack of brats I use 2 cans of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 406vett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Prick the brats? PRICK THE BRATS??? Are you kidding me? You must be a Vikings fan trying to sabotage the parties of young rookie tailgaters! No true Wisconsin brat professional would ever prick a brat for any reason except when they bite into it! Slowly simmer (NEVER BOIL) in beer, pepper and onions for 20 minutes. A couple tablespoons of butter is optional and acceptable. Finish on a medium hot charcoal grill just before serving...with Silver Springs Beer and Brat Horseradish Mustard. Sauerkraut with caraway is also acceptable. Catsup? Catsup is only used on Chicago hot dogs when you want to make Bears fans angry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Only reason I give this a 3 star is because I too grill them first then put the brats in beer, onions and butter. I think it holds the flavor of the brat in by grilling first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
very good... Everyone of them got ate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I cooked another batch and because of my high cholestrol I had to modify the recipe for me. I used beer brats reduced the beer to 2 cans and the butter to 2 tablespoons. I added 2 cloves of garlic they were still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
NEVER EVER prick the bratwurst. Recipe is fine as long as you dont do that. Been cooking them for years and never had one explode. Other than that, this method gives great flavor and allows for perfect grill time before eating. Poking holes in the brat is the mother of bad ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States