Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Prick the brats? PRICK THE BRATS??? Are you kidding me? You must be a Vikings fan trying to sabotage the parties of young rookie tailgaters! No true Wisconsin brat professional would ever prick a brat for any reason except when they bite into it! Slowly simmer (NEVER BOIL) in beer, pepper and onions for 20 minutes. A couple tablespoons of butter is optional and acceptable. Finish on a medium hot charcoal grill just before serving...with Silver Springs Beer and Brat Horseradish Mustard. Sauerkraut with caraway is also acceptable. Catsup? Catsup is only used on Chicago hot dogs when you want to make Bears fans angry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Only reason I give this a 3 star is because I too grill them first then put the brats in beer, onions and butter. I think it holds the flavor of the brat in by grilling first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
very good... Everyone of them got ate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I cooked another batch and because of my high cholestrol I had to modify the recipe for me. I used beer brats reduced the beer to 2 cans and the butter to 2 tablespoons. I added 2 cloves of garlic they were still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
NEVER EVER prick the bratwurst. Recipe is fine as long as you dont do that. Been cooking them for years and never had one explode. Other than that, this method gives great flavor and allows for perfect grill time before eating. Poking holes in the brat is the mother of bad ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was fine, but I would have been just as happy grilling the bratwurst "pure".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I'm a Wisconsinite - and this is the best brat recipe! Definitely need to use Johnsonville Brats. I also simmered on the stove for a lot longer, usually about an hour or so. Definitely a must on a game day! Made for a superbowl party, and also on July 4th. Huge hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Incredible! Best Brats EVER! I never cooked them in butter before, and with the carmelized onions, simmered in beer.... WOW! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good flavor simmered in the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States