Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
great recipe. i pull the onions out of the beer put them into another bowl with garlic spices. then let them marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great way to make brats. I saute onions and bell peppers to go with these.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delish! Didn't add as much butter as called for (cut it to 1/4 c) and it was still fabulous. I also added a little bit of red pepper flakes, some ground pepper and a some thin slices of red and yellow mini peppers for some color. Boiled and then cooked on my grill pan on the stovetop. Will definitely make it again. Oh, yes, also - for sure serve the onions and beer sauce with the meal - my mouth is watering again just writing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I liked it as a fast dinner. I did boil down the beer, onions, and butter to make a topping. Next time, I would like to boil/grill the bratwurst, discard the remaining beer, and lightly fry the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very, very tasty and easy to prepare! A win all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaandLarry Blevins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Oh yeah. That's what I'm talking about. Piercing the brats allowed the flavors of the beer and onion in. Unfortunately it was late at night when I made this, so I brown the brats in a cast iron skillet instead of on the grill. The onions from the beer bath were just AWESOME. My husband said they were the best brats he's ever had!!! He's not a picky eater, but he can be stingy with his complements. I'm gluten intolerant, so skipped the bun, but I was impressed as well. I can't wait to try this again with the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wowzers! These were fantastic! Followed the directions to a T! At the end we drained the onions and used them as a topping! Super! This will be my go-to recipe for brats! Thanks. I did have to use the broiler and they turned out great! I just kept truning them and broiled them for probalby 15- 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
In the past I have merely grilled the brats, then sauteed some onions and peppers to serve w/the sausages. Always turned out delicious. The technique described in this recipe raises the bar! The sausages come off the grill with a better char - must be the sugars in the beer. Whatever the reason, this is the way I'll do brats from now on. Thanks allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States