Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Best brats ever! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
A great-tasting, classic Wisconsin recipe. It seems the secrets here are the butter and mild heat. I usually see the best-tasting brats floating in a pan of gently simmering (not boiling) beer, sliced onion, and butter right on a hot grate for a half hour to an hour before grilling. BTW, grilling is only for lightly carmelizing the skins - and for locking in the juice from simmering - not additional cooking. Do not overdo either! Skins should literally burst when bitten through. And, yes... serve on hoagie or hard rolls, or something substantial. Add a sliced apple and a few caraway seeds to warming sauerkraut for a more mild, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedcatharine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We didn't poke holes, and we only made six rather than ten. We've been cooking a meal every day this week, and today was one of the best dinners we've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I rated this a 4 only because its written to POKE the brat! Never ever poke a brat! all the greasy goodness will seep out! The flavor of the beer/butter/onion was great though! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe, I added hot sauce to the butter/beer for a little kick and cooked the onions after removing the brats for another half hour or so, they were fall apart tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My father is from Wisconsin and my Mother is German, so I grew up on brats. I always cook my brats in beer before grilling(my father hates that) but wondered if adding the onions and butter would add to the taste and it did. The only reason I gave this only 3 stars is the poking of the bratwurst. If someone trying this recipe did this they would be robbed of the juicy explosion you get when you bite into a properly cooked bratwust! And ketchup?...never should it touch a bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was good but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent recipe...easy to make and great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were great, the beer added the perfect touch. Good with any grade of brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Love, love, love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States