Winter White Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This had an odd flavor, but was very good and easy to make. I cut out the mushrooms, accidentally used a turnip instead of a parsnip, and used yellow mustard instead of dijon. I also used half a can of cannellini beans. I used vitamin D milk instead of heavy cream. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I was excited to make this as it sounded like it'd be tasty and different, but was really disappointed. All I could taste was the wine. Maybe I overcooked the veggies or didn't reduce it enough. Either way, I didn't care for this, but my husband loved it! So maybe the flavor's just not for everyone. I told him the only way I'd ever eat it again was if HE made it and left out the wine - ha! Definitely recommend doubling the recipe if you're making this as a main course for 4. Croutons are also a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was really delicious! The ingredient list is long, but the cooking part is easy. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used 1 tsp dill weed and 1 tsp thyme. I also skipped the parsnip because they didn't have any at the store. I served this over rice, which made for an extremely hearty and comforting dish. At the table, I sprinkled crushed red pepper flakes on top, because I like spice on everything and because I'm just weird like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients (more garlic, less ginger etc), and I omitted the pear as the ones at the store were rock hard and kinda sorry looking. I used my immersion stick blender to puree, and had to use chicken broth to thin the soup out a little. I intended to have it for lunch the next day but I couldn't stop eating it. Delicious and hearty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I would declare myself a fabulous cook if this soup were my creation out of leftover vegetables. But I'm not sure this was worth all the work. All the peeling and chopping did not result in the "Holy Wow" I was expecting; it was average at best. I had to convince myself to like it to finish eating. The recipe is great if you have these leftover ingredients, but I won't make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is my new favorite winter soup. I followed the recipe exactly as written and I left the flavors meld for a day as suggested. I served the soup to two different groups on two separate days. Everyone loved it. Try this recipe. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This soup was delicious, a combination of ingredients that are unusual together. I used an unoaked chardonnay, as I dislike the woody taste of regular chardonnay. I also used vegetable broth (organic) so that all of us could eat the same soup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My younger daughter thought it was a little bland, but everyone else liked it. It is nowhere near 6 servings, though, and the serving size should be adjusted. I will make this again for myself for lunches, and add some croutons on the top for crunch. This time I added a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of paprika, as it is not too beautiful looking (although it is beautiful tasting). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is an unusual but wonderful recipe! At first glance the ingredient list seems bizarre, but it actually turned out to be one of the most delicious soups I have ever made. My husband raved about it for days afterward. It is definitely restaurant quality. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Absolutely brilliant combination of ingredients!!! I did not see how this recipe might work but it does, and it is outstanding. The wine brings everything together. The soup has so much depth with the sage, pear, shallots and hint of ginger. The only changes I made were 2 cloves of garlic instead of 3 and evaporated milk in place of the cream. Evaporated milk imparts the same texture and taste without all the fat and calories. This makes 4 servings not 6. The soup would do best with a garnish if served to company as it is not very pretty. The flavor more than makes up for the color. Thank you Simone for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States