Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
We are back to having a vegetarian meal one night a week. This was a perfect vegetarian dinner. I used butternut squash instead of the acorn squash, and added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Invest in one of those dicer boxes - - it only took me 5 minutes to dice the squash, mushrooms, potatoes, red pepper, shallots, and garlic. For the record, the dish needs a heavy pinch of salt and pepper for flavoring. And we splashed on hot sauce right before serving. (My husband added soy sauce too.) It just needs alittle "zing" to make it fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Delicious and flexible, I substituted a few things based on what was in the house -- I used regular mushrooms, no peppers, half an acorn squash instead of a whole, and dried sage. Next time I think I will double the kale since it is the most healthy thing in there and it shrinks down so much. Hubby loved it, and he is not a fan of kale or squash. I think it was all the olive oil and butter and a liberal dash of salt that brought the flavors together so well. I'll be keeping this in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I added the kale at the beginning, along with the potatoes and the squash. 5 minutes is not nearly enough to wilt kale in my experience: it can stand as much cooking as the potatoes. The diced red pepper, on the other hand, I withheld until the last five minutes or so. I substituted some of the giant puffball Kathy Turner gave us for the shitakes, and a leek for the shallot; added some frozen "meat"balls (my wife's vegetarian)for protein's sake; and I served this, with some grated cheese to go on top, as a main dish. Delish! This is an amazing festive autumn treat even without the giant puffball. In fact, we enjoyed this so much that I'm cooking it again tonight (for the second night running). Still some giant puffball left, but this time I'll substitue fish sausage (she's a pesce-vegetarian) for the "meat"balls, and adding Kathy's green beans to the melange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I am a married mother of 2. My husband and I are both 24 years old. He is a total meat guy. I made this for him and he loved it. He didn't even notice that there were veggies in it. My 5 year old and 2 year old loved it as well. I put a little ketchup on the kids plates and they loved it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Super, super tasty. I opted for no mushrooms (can't stand 'em), but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. I REALLY enjoyed this, particularly with some soy sauce to spice it up. It was also quite tasty with eggs - I scrambled them together with a little extra salt & pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Deliciously healthy comfort food! Of course, it helps that you like all the vegetables on their own! I substituted butternut squash for the acorn squash and added dried crushed sage leaves instead. Like others, I could definately finish a whole lot of this at a time. Based on other reviewers' suggestions, I cooked the potato and onion alone for 10 minutes, then added the squash, mushroom, and bell pepper and cooked for an additional 10 minutes. Finally, I added the remaining vegetable and cooked the final 5 minutes. So good! A keeper of a recipe and a great starting point for making your own vegetable hash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I just made this for brunch on this snowy morning. I had picked up some purple kale at Wild Oats but needed a recipe to go with it. I made this and some fried eggs, and put out some crusty artisan bread next to it. Delicious! An update: This is 3 years later. I can't tell you how often I've made this dish. Trying to get colorful veggies down people can be a challenge, and this has ALWAYS worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I cooked it for a dinner party attended by a vegetarian. She loved it and asked me for the recipe. Even my carnivore husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't care for the recipe so much. I didn't like the sweetness of the acorn squash mixed with everything else. Nothing out of the ordinary. I added some summer squash to it and the yellow squash offered a nice visual presentation and added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Good and healthy. It was good, but not great. Too much time and effort for just a "good" recipe. But you gave me a good start on producing my own veggie hash. Thanks Rebecca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States