Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
very good and healthy, my first time ever using acorn squash and second ever time using kale. It was a little bland for my taste, I added feta cheese on top and that helped for the most part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a really great recipe, with lots of room to play around. I used one butternut squash and one acorn squash. I also used one yukon gold potato, one red potatoe, and one sweet potato. I did find the shitake mushrooms a bit expensive, so I used half those and half baby bella mushrooms. We had some parsley and onion leftover from the fish we made with the hash, so I threw that in, too. I found that I had to add a lot of water to the veggies while cooking to keep them from sticking, but other than that, the recipe worked just fine. The hash was pretty tasty when we ate it the first night. The second day, I had some leftovers with dinner, and it tasted way better after having been refrigerated. The third day, I threw in a handful of dried cranberries, and it was HEAVENLY. My bottom line suggestion is definitely to double this recipe and, if you can, make it the day before and refrigerate overnight. It really makes the flavors meld wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really excellent. I added more sage and kale. I also only used half the shitake mushrooms and substituted cremini mushrooms for the rest. It still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good. Made recipe as stated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is one of the best, easiest hash recipes I’ve made—absolutely delicious! I had a butternut squash from the CSA, so I used that, plus purple potatoes, so it was very pretty. I didn’t think the potatoes and squash would cook in 25 minutes in the skillet, so I added 1/4c veg broth, covered the skillet, and simmered for about 10 min. while I was chopping the other veggies. Next time, I’ll add a bit more sage. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is such a yummy recipe! I made it as is the first time and loved it, but thought I'd change it up a little the next time to see if my kids would love it more. I didn't want to buy 5 pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes so I used some red, some white, and some sweet potatoes. I also tried it with spinach instead of kale. It was even yummier the second time I made it with those changes. Having the sweet potatoes with the acorn squash made such a sweet taste to it- great! And I love that it's so healthy too. My kids did like it better with the changes. I'm heading to the pumpkin patch right now and will probably pick up some more acorn squash to use in it the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I am so happy to find this recipe! And my tummy is too! It's sweet and salty and savory and has all sorts of flavors going for it. I had some anise that I needed to do something with so I cooked it in too, but it didn't add any flavor I don't think. We didn't have any good shallots at the market, so I added onion. The fresh sage really makes this sing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Almost didn't make this. Scared by some of the reviews. Different strokes for different folks I guess. We loved it. The only thing I changed was adding 1 tsp minced garlic. I put some shredded Jack cheese over the top of my meat eaters plates. All family members enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was very good and enjoyed by the whole family. Both vegetarians and omnivores found it filling and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was really mushy and soggy, and I only cooked it for 15 minutes! It was also really bland. I made it with some lemon pepper cod (which was delicious), but none of us ate the veggie hash. Well, except for my 7 month old. He LOVED it!! Summary: good baby food, not good adult food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States