Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I LOVE this recipe BUT I did not have acorn squash or bell pepper so I tripled the Kale. Next time I will use all the ingredients (lol). I made a frittata from the leftovers. This recipe is a real "keeper". I usually use garlic in everything but used the shallot as written and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Delicious. Only giving it 4 stars because I made quite a few changes based on what I had on hand. Steamed baby potatoes beforehand. Sauteed some onions until translucent, added potatoes. Then I added broccoli and green beans until aldente, then added green and red peppers only cooking a bit, wanted to keep the crunch. I then added some pre-cooked squash (mine was too mushy but still tasted great). At the very end I added chopped up spinach and stirred until wilted. For seasoning I used salt, pepper, italian herb mixtures, and dry sage. We all enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Pretty tasty - next time I'll cook the potatoes first to help this recipe along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was good fresh, but not as leftovers. I had never cooked butternut squash before and it was way too big of a pain to do it again. I will substitute something else in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I love this! This is pretty tasty as written, but I found that adding in some turkey kielbasa and some hot chili paste makes it amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great simple quick recipe for a november evening! We used all kinds of root vegetables and greens from our garden in this in addition to the potatoes and squash. Did without the mushrooms but added in a little chicken broth at the end when cooking kale to let "steam" for 10min. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKmachine225

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I found this pretty unappealing, and time comsuming to make, it had a mushy consistancy, and seemed to need something, so I added some crumbled turkey bacon, but maybe some sausage of some sort would work better, but not sure it is worth all that effort to try again, dont see where the 4 and 5 star ratings come from??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Hash is when you use whatever is needing to be used before it spoils. So any combo makes a hash. This combination is good and your family won't turn up their noses. I remember my Dad's hash when Mom was out of town. Those meals were made of some pretty interesting combinations. It's amazing I survived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This needs a lot more salt, but otherwise it's a very tasty mix. I used butternut in place of the acorn squash and spinach in place of the kale. Be sure to cut the potatoes in 1/2" dice to ensure it cooks in the 25 min. specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is delicious! I did not use butter nor did I use garlic powder. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead and a little more kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States