Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jchiam
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Tried this last night and it was delicious. Used all ingredients except for the oil and mustard powder, which I didn't have in the kitchen. Still turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made this exactly as written except that I used two cloves of garlic minced instead of garlic powder. I would certainly make this again many times for many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner and it was fabulous! It did take forever to cut up the vegetables. I prepped that the night before. But after that it's quick and easy. Will definitely make this again. I had Turkey Kielbasa with the vegies. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent. My modifications: 1) added several carrots, which gave a touch of sweetness to the dish, 2) used about 2 TBS of olive oil and a couple teaspoons of butter, 3) added dried thyme and marjoram, 4) added one shallot and one finely diced onion, 5) sautéed the onion and shallots until translucent, then added the potatoes and carrots and cooked for 10 minutes, and 6) added all other ingredients, including the kale, after this. Note that preparing all the vegetables is time consuming. I suggest buying already-peeled chunks of butternut squash, if available in your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! A lot of prep work, but I did not mind - cooking is fun. :-) Makes a very fresh, seasonal side dish. I did as another reviewer suggested and started out sautéing the potatoes with the onion and fresh garlic (instead of seasoning) for 10-15 minutes, then added the rest of the veggies (except the kale). Turned out perfect - the potatoes were nicely done. I also used portabella mushrooms since I couldn't find shiitake, and it tasted just fine. Definitely a keeper for a warm fall/winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a starting off point, adding some additional vegetables like beets, carrots, yellow onion, and garlic. Skipped the butter and used extra olive oil. (I'm a vegan) Changed up the herbs and spices too. At any rate, mine turned out amazing. Enjoyed by vegans an non-vegans alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Pretty good healthy recipe. I thought it was a little bland but it was easy to make and is filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Fantastic. Thinking I am going to add to my thanksgiving day menu. Accidently used savory and did not have sage. I also added poultry seasoning. I am sure the recipe is good as written, but it was so good I am not sure I'll try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Adding a poached egg over the top, and sprinkling on salt and pepper, are ideas straight from a restaurant that make this dish an even better meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Just made this and have already "tasted " it many times. It really is good. I used russet potatoes because I had some on hand that needed to be used and portabello mushrooms because that's what there was at the store. Also used dried sage. I'm pretty sure prep time was more like 30 minutes, those acorn squash are a pain to dice. Well worth the effort, though. It would be easy to add a little more protein by adding some sort of meat or even cheese, but it is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States