Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cjucoder
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved it! Used russets instead of Yukon, baby portabellos (crimini) instead of shiitake, and delicata instead of acorn, just based on what I had. Delicata is nice because you don't have to peel it, makes easier prep. At first I was going to use some sweet potato, but then decided against it since the squash already has sweetness to it, but I did add carrots to use them up, add color and crunch. I used thyme instead of sage just to match the rest of the meal better. The key to a recipe like this is the size of the dice, you want everything to cook through at the same time but nothing get mushy. I started the potatoes a bit first, and I like kale a bit more done in things like this so I added it earlier than the recipe says. I wish I would have kept the red pepper dice larger. People that say it's bland probably did not add enough salt and pepper, although that is probably the fault of the recipe because it does say "pinch" which in my opinion is not enough. Maybe I should take a star away for that, but salt and pepper should always be to taste. I almost always ignore S&P measurements in a recipe. Regardless, this combination of veggies is outstanding and I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
takes a little more time than I'm accustomed to taking on just a side dish, but for flavor, i thought its surprisingly good. even my husband liked it!! (he rarely eats his veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Sort of bland for all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I halved the olive oil and butter. I think five tablespoons of fat is too much for a recipe that makes only six servings. But considering the other reviews, the butter and oil must be making this dish worthwhile. The only other changes I made were using button mushrooms instead of shitake and chopped swiss chard instead of kale (all what I had on hand). This dish looked really good in the skillet, but was quite bland like other reviewers have mentioned. I just don't see the point of making this again and don't intend to try it with additional seasoning. Life's too short. The butter and oil are clearly the stars of this dish and, if I want to eat tons of fat, I can just make cookies. As for peeling the acorn squash, with a good peeler, it's actually not that bad. I hadn't done it before either, but found a few videos online. Just cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, cut the halves into wedges, and then peel the wedges. I even left little bits of peel in the hard-to-peel grooves of the squash and didn't notice them at all when eating the dish. Revision: At first I gave this recipe 3 stars because it wasn't that bad. But after heating up leftovers and eating it, I changed it to 2 stars. It's HORRIBLE the second time around. I had to gag it down. Will NEVER make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
If I make this again, I think I will add an apple. It is kind of labor intensive for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I like the recipe but I think you mean winter squash, not acorn squash. I can't imagine dicing acorn squash unless it is first baked but then it would be too soft to fry with the other ingredients. Also, I found it very bland and intend to add diced ham next time I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My prep time was longer than the 35 min. listed, but I'm not a cutting and slicing machine either. Finally found a receipe to use the fresh Sage from my herb garden. The finished dish looks great, smell great,and full of flavor. Perfect for using winter vegetables. While Kale and Sage were melding into the dish in the last five minutes. I seared two fillets of Sockeyed Salmon Cagun Style on the grill. Can't wait to share it with a family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was yum!! and I did it the easy way! Instead of chopping everything by hand I used my mini food processor so some of the veggies were a little smaller. I did chop the spinach (instead of kale), used a yellow onion instead of shallot and regular mushrooms instead of shiitake - because I had them available. Threw all the veggies in a large bowl, whisked together 5 tbsp of the olive oil (instead of using the butter), 3/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, the garlic powder and used sage spice (I had in my cabinet) about 1/2 tsp - poured the mixture over the veggies, mixed everything up, put it in my stoneware dish and baked it uncovered for about 45 min at about 375. I came out absolutely yummy!! I was actually surprised at how good it was:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Basically, you can use any veggie you want, like using up leftovers...don't want to deal with peeling acorn squash, then don't. Use cut up carrots or parsnips or butternut squash, this recipe doesn't have to be so rigid. Add flavorings to your liking, and a 'pinch' of salt is not enough! You need salt to bring the flavors together, to taste. Usually a splash of chicken broth, which has salt, brings it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morten Vitved
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Good hearty meal. 2 servings per person is plenty food. We substituted the Acorn Squash with ordinary Squash and it was still good. We also had a couple of soy sausages on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morten Vitved

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States