Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These are now a regular in my kitchen - everyone loves them!! 1/2 whole wheat and all ww make them delish too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Awesome. I used some roasted butternut squash I had on hand so I didn't have to cook the squash. I also subbed butter for the shortening. These rolls bake up really soft and flavorful. I did use a half sheet pan instead of the 9x13 as this is a lot of dough for that small a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These rolls are wonderful...The recipe makes lots of large rolls and they are soft and tender. I use butternut squash, which gives them a golden hue. I enjoy making and eating these delicious rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
A bit bland, perhaps, but turns out a beautiful dough. I did it in my bosch mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
these were so delicious right out of the oven! my oven cooked them a little fast so next time i will reduce the cooking time, but these were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Amazing! This was my first time making rolls from scratch and they were delicious! I substituted regular milk for Almond Milk also halved the recipe as someone else had suggested. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
By far the best rolls my husband and I have ever made. We were shocked at how moist and delicious they were. The squash flavor is not overpowering. We made two batches. One with a ligher yellow fleshed squash and one with a deeper orange fleshed squash. I think the orange one made prettier rolls with a sweeter flavor. VERY, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Fabulous! Two cheats - I bought a bag of already peeled & cubed butternut squash at Trader Joe's, and I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. I haven't made a yeast dough in years, and I'd really forgotten how satisfying and FUN it is. I used my KA, so the dough worked up like a dream, and didn't require very much additional flour during the kneading (I love to knead by hand). I should have read more reviews, though. The rolls were ginormous (I made 12), and some of the dough went to the compost bin. Served them for Christmas dinner, and got rave reviews. With butter and tayberry jam...delicious! With leftover turkey, cream cheese and cranberry sauce later for supper...delicious! Thank you, Tracey for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe as my first experiment in cooking with squash and I am more than happy with the results. Very tasty, even the kids loved them. I was worried they might be heavy as I needed to use more flour than called for to get the dough to pull together cleanly, so I allowed the second rise to go for an hour as well. The rolls were light and fluffy with a distinct, balanced flavour that compliments the food they were served with. This one's a keeper, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were amazing. I baked a butternut squash and used 1 and 1/2 cups. I substituted organic butter for the shortening, decreased the salt by half, made 15 rolls and a medium sized bread braid. Brushed with butter for last 5 minutes. Very hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States