Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I don't say this lightly, but this is a phenomenal recipe. My family has demanded that I make these as often as possible. They are the perfect dinner roll, but they are also suited well for sandwiches. Believe none of the negative reviews if you like a moist, soft, flavorful roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Make these all the time now. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
lovely bread; I somewhat expected a more orange colour, but it depends on the squash you are using I suppose. Made twists and decorated with butternut squash toasted seeds; my, it was pretty! I'd like to try with fresh or dry sage as suggested by some other reviewer. I think that also onion flakes could deserve a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've made these a few times and I find that I need to work in an additional 1.5 - 2 cups of flour during the kneading process, and I make the rolls 3 oz of dough each, which results in rolls that aren't doughy in the middle, and then the recipe yields 23-24 rolls. I also prefer to use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were delicious! Everyone loved them and we couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars,its almost amazing! Like other reviewers said, this recipe is better halved, even when it is, you still get 12 big buns! So I half everything and use a cup of squash that I have pre mashed. I also season the squash a bit with nutmeg. The buns are so moist and delish, I usually end up cooking them for 30 minutes or longer at 375'. The first time I cooked this recipe, I followed it exactly and ended up with 12 MASSIVE ROLLS, that weren't cooked in the middle or properly and I had them in the oven for nearly an hour. So cook time was very wrong for me. So please read other reviews so you dont end up with a disapointing batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made these today using butternut squash. I used half the recipe but wish I hadn't! These looked beautiful. I substituted butter for the shortening, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
What i a wonderful recipe. I added a little more sugar so they were a bit on the sweet side. Just the way i like it. I've stored them overnight in a plastic wrap. Next day they were very soft and tasty. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I make these on a regular basis now. I made them for Thanksgiving with some farmers market delicate a squash I wanted to put to good us. I make them at least once a month. I ziplock them and ration them to the best of my abilities. I use butternut usually and up the amount to 3+cups....I use them for breakfast with honey or cinnamon/butter....yummy! My son and I love them! With honey(cardamom cinnamon) its like French toast!! Great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My kids LOVED these...which is a feat considering they won't touch squash. We used them as buns for sliders with a crockpotted roast. The dough is really easy to make. The only difficulty I ran into was that they ended up being super doughy...even after I threw them in the oven for a little longer three times (once in the pan, once completely separated, and once separated and cut in 1/2 doughy side down). Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I won't use the pan...I'll put individual rolls on my stoneware to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States