Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
rolls took a long time to rise 12 rolls fills whole 13x9 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe at least a half dozen times. When you only make a dozen, like the recipe calls for, you have rolls large enough to make sandwiches out of. I make 2 dozen rolls from the one batch and they are more like dinenr rolls. I also add a tsp. of ground cardamom to the recipe. Adds a great flavor and works well with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made the dough as directed with butternut squash. I roasted the squash first rather than boil it to bring out the flavour. That was a lot of dough! Split it into 18 buns of more manageable size. Baked at 375 for 15 minutes and brushed with melted butter and honey just before taking it out of the oven. Ate one almost right away with honey-butter. Absolutely delicious spin on buns! Moist, dense, with a solid crust. Good flavour, you can definitely taste the squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Liked these a lot. Used butternut, and I will make them again without any change. Seemed a little dry and not as soft on day two, but I did not re-heat them, That would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I don't say this lightly, but this is a phenomenal recipe. My family has demanded that I make these as often as possible. They are the perfect dinner roll, but they are also suited well for sandwiches. Believe none of the negative reviews if you like a moist, soft, flavorful roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Make these all the time now. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
lovely bread; I somewhat expected a more orange colour, but it depends on the squash you are using I suppose. Made twists and decorated with butternut squash toasted seeds; my, it was pretty! I'd like to try with fresh or dry sage as suggested by some other reviewer. I think that also onion flakes could deserve a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've made these a few times and I find that I need to work in an additional 1.5 - 2 cups of flour during the kneading process, and I make the rolls 3 oz of dough each, which results in rolls that aren't doughy in the middle, and then the recipe yields 23-24 rolls. I also prefer to use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were delicious! Everyone loved them and we couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars,its almost amazing! Like other reviewers said, this recipe is better halved, even when it is, you still get 12 big buns! So I half everything and use a cup of squash that I have pre mashed. I also season the squash a bit with nutmeg. The buns are so moist and delish, I usually end up cooking them for 30 minutes or longer at 375'. The first time I cooked this recipe, I followed it exactly and ended up with 12 MASSIVE ROLLS, that weren't cooked in the middle or properly and I had them in the oven for nearly an hour. So cook time was very wrong for me. So please read other reviews so you dont end up with a disapointing batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States