Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I made smaller dinner size rolls and used part butter instead of all shortening. They came out great and they were scarfed up in minutes at the cub scout banquet I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These are amazing - so fluffy and moist. I make them healthier by adding one teaspoon nutritional yeast, one teaspoon wheat germ, one tablespoon nonfat milk powder, one tablespoon soy flour, one heaping tablespoon wheat flour and one teaspoon ground flax seed per cup of white flour. This only adds nutrition and does not affect the taste at all! I used butternut squash as well - fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is the best recipe I've ever used for dinner rolls and will be my recipe of choice from now on. The rolls have a wonderful color. The flavor reminds me of potato bread (which I LOVE). One average butternut squash will yield enough squash for about 4 batches. The rolls are large enough to use as sandwich rolls (with lunch) when the dough is only divided into 12 pieces. For dinner rolls (to accompany a supper meal), I would divide the dough into at least 18 pieces, if not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I followed the instructions of SAVIMAHARAJ and made 18 rolls and they came out just as I would have wanted. Using the bread machine was so convenient, and the rolls were colorful, delicious and perfectly sized. The leftover rolls do need to be kept in the fridge though, because with the squash and high moisture content, they will mold quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
These rolls were a great way to use our abundance of winter squash. The only change I made was to sub butter for shortening. Tey turned out light and flavorful. Great warm with a little butter. Served them with 2 chilis from this site at a party. Although the corn bread was a bigger hit, I REALLy loved these rolls too. My only comment was that tehse rolls do not appear to have winter squash in them (by color or flavor). Similar to a potato bread, the squash impacts the texture more than anything else. nevertheless, a very nice roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These were REALLY good rolls. I didn't have any shortning, so I used butter instead, which was great and this recipe made 17 large rolls instead of 12. If I had made 12, they would have been HUGE...although that would have been ok because they are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Excellent roll. Halved the recipe for 10 hamburger sized rolls. For a half recipe, I used 1 c Buttercup squash steamed in the micro and squeezed of water. I also used 2 t yeast and all milk (instead of water). Used 3 T marjarine instead of shortening. Rose nicely. Great recipe! I plan on using it alot for the overload of winter squash I have. Thank you Tracey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are excellent!!! They stand out of the crowd!!! Delicious rolls. I used acorn sqaush and my "squash hating, vegetable hating, don't ever try anything new" husband loved them!! No one believed thats where they got their lovely yellow color. They ate all of these and barely touched the white dinner rolls I made. They thought they tasted gourmet like what you would get at a restaraunt!!! I will definately make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Super rolls! Listened to other raters and planned on having more rolls then the recipe called for. Easy to make, and the best dinner rolls I have tasted in a long time. My husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
My kids love these rolls. I usually prepare the dough in my bread machine rather than by hand. To do this, the recipe must be resized to fit your bread machine. For my medium-sized machine, I resize the recipe to make 7.3 servings (though, I then actually make 12 rolls out of the dough. The original recipe makes rolls that are too big for my liking.) The pureed squash is added along with the other liquids at the bottom of the bread pan. Remember to use bread machine yeast ("instant" yeast) instead of active dry yeast. The recipe also seems to work very well with other vegetables. I have tried butternut squash, carrot, and beetroot (which makes great "Red Nose Day" rolls!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States