Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My husband has been learning to make bread and this recipe has turned out the best. Very soft and nice. He is convinced that he can taste a little squash in them but I didn't notice, especially since I was dipping them in my soup. Great way to use up squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great recipe. Good light flavor, nice texture. Great color. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I'm not sure where this recipe originated, by my mother made squash rolls almost exactly the same. Just as they come out of the oven, if you rub a stick of butter over the tops of them, it keeps them soft and makes them just that much better. Also, substituting up to half of whole wheat flour for white gives them an added health kick without ruining the texture. One more note--this is a bread that you can make ahead of time. Stick dough balls in a greased casserole dish, seran wrap, freezer bag, then thaw and bake whenever you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made these for a pre-Thanksgiving dinner and everyone thought they were great. They were easy to make and the dough was so nice to work with. Everyone was surprised when I told them there was squash in them (which was a little test for me because half the people eating them don't like squash). I also halved the recipe and it made 12 good sized dinner rolls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
this is delicious! my quest for the perfect dinner rolls stops here. those rolls stay soft even after 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These rolls were delicious. My kids that don't like squash thought they tasted kind of like hawaiian rolls. I made this in my bread machine so I had to cut the recipe in half. I used 3/4c. of mashed squash that had been frozen. I put all of the wet ingredients, including squash and shortening in first, mixed the dry ingredients and added next. Made a well in the dry ingredients and put the package of yeast in. Then used the dough settings. While it was mixing it looked a little dry so I added 2 tsp of water, 1 at a time. When it finished I made it into 15 dinner size rolls. They were great and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Amazing! This was my first attempt at "from scratch" rolls and I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. They make very generous, delicious rolls that go well with honey butter spread or anything. Thanks for the recipe! This recipe's getting laminated. I'll be making these forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
VERY nice rolls. I used the ingredients listed with the exception of 1/3C olive oil instead of shortening. These rolls were to accompany a italian soup, and I didn't have any shortening, so I decided to go with olive oil instead of butter, and crossed my fingers. I used butternut squash and it was perfect. I also decided to use my bread-maker, and crossed fingers again. I put all the wet stuff in the bottom, followed by the dry stuff, and the yeast on top--bread machine/rapid rise yeast, so I reduced the amount to 3 and 1/4 tsp. I used the dough setting on my machine, then pulled it out and made rolls. I let them rise as directed, although it took a little longer for them to double than 1/2 hour as recommended. I expected to have leftovers, because I was only feeding 9 people, and I made a full recipe of a grilled flat-bread as well, (great Serendipity recipe on this site) but I didn't have one roll leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I made smaller dinner size rolls and used part butter instead of all shortening. They came out great and they were scarfed up in minutes at the cub scout banquet I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These are amazing - so fluffy and moist. I make them healthier by adding one teaspoon nutritional yeast, one teaspoon wheat germ, one tablespoon nonfat milk powder, one tablespoon soy flour, one heaping tablespoon wheat flour and one teaspoon ground flax seed per cup of white flour. This only adds nutrition and does not affect the taste at all! I used butternut squash as well - fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States