Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by logie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good recipe! If you dont have any fresh squash you can substitute canned pumpkin or mashed sweet potatoes or regular mashed potatoes just simply boil them and then mash them but without any milk etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Nice bread. This makes a LOT, as others have stated. I made a batch of rolls and 3 loaves of bread. The rolls bake up soft with a nice outer crust, and are a little sweet with a nice golden color. Great use of extra winter squash. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mine looked very much like the ones in the picture, so that was very encouraging! My husband says they are not as fluffy as the ones "we buy", but I do think they turned out fluffy and tasty. I used butter instead of shortening, I'm not sure if it influenced the result. Also, they were not too sweet and are so good hot with butter! It took about 20 minutes on 375 in my oven. They didn't really rise much (if any at all) during the second rising, but still baked nice and plump. I do like this recipe a lot, although I'm not sure if it's a good thing or not that you can't tell there's squash in them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I recently made these rolls with a couple of additions. I added thyme and dehydrated garlic which was great. The only reason I ant give it more stars is that my dough didn't really rise much. The end result was more of a biscuit than a dinner roll but they were amazing nonetheless. I plan on making these again and hope I can replicate my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Ifollowed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly!! I used yellow acorn squash. My whole family loved it plus extra to freeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This bread is everything you say, and more! I usually don't rate a recipe unless I've tried it almost exactly, and I had to make a couple of substitutions - but the recipe as written is a keeper! I started with cooked squash and used 1 1/4 cup, I used the warm 'juice' from cooking the squash to start the yeast, and I ran out of sugar, so used half panela. I don't have an oven, only a rice cooker, so I divided the dough in two. Half went into the fridge, and I formed 4 round loaves with the second half and 'baked' them on high. It's been done for ten minutes, and two of those little loves are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe at least 20x now. I get rave reviews and requests. I have used white and wheat, both work great. I always eye the flour anyway so it's implied to judge flour by the feel since flour can be more or less moisture dense. I split the butternut squash in half, scoop out the seeds/ strings, oil both halves all around and bake on 350 flesh down until a knife goes through easily. This retains more nutrients and is easy to scoop out the right amount. As soon as it's cool enough to scoop, I put scooped squash and all the ingredients except flour, yeast and the water it proofs in, into the blender and purée it. Since the squash is hot I don't need to heat the milk. I'm proofing the yeast while pureeing (I add a bit of sugar to the yeast water to speed it up). I then pour the wet mix in a bowl, whisk in the proofed yeast and then start adding flour. I get 18 gigantic rolls. I've also used this to make hamburger buns for my husband's sandwiches. This recipe is fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for dinner rolls that I could pre-make and freeze up to the final rise and then thaw and bake after the final rise since I was having hand surgery the week before Thanksgiving and still wanted to be able to cook for and host dinner. I knew my hand would not be up to kneading dough post op so I froze these after forming the rolls and before the second rise. They were sweet, light and no one could believe I hadn't made them fresh that morning! Inveterate squash haters even loved these rolls as well! Note: I was really worried that the freezing would effect the ability of the yeast to rise a second time but the little critters did just great. I am going to try making this recipe in loaf pans as I think it will make a great bread as well. The rolls were sublime when I made more to go with my turkey soup I made with the leftover turkey carcass. Note: to cut down on kneading time I use my Kitchenaide stand mixer and dough hook to knead the dough and I always end up adding about 2 extra cups of flour to get the dough to come together. I also bake my butternut squash slathered in butter and maple syrup as baking creates a much richer flavor palate than boiling or steaming in the microwave. Extra squash can be frozen in appropriate portioned ziplock baggies for future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong but my dough was very tough and never rose. I followed the directions so I am very disappointed that my ingredients were all wasted. I wish I would have had better results like every other reviewer of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annasmommy2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States