Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
DELICIOUS. I made these to go with pot roast. Glad I cut the recipe in half as it was just my husband and I and it made 6 giant rolls. Toasted some the next morning and had them with the All Day Apple Butter I made the day before and they made a great breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Very moist and soft bread. My mother wanted seconds of it instead of dessert at Thanksgiving dinner. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
After many failed attempts at using whole wheat to make dinner rolls, I was looking for a way to prepare rolls that were light and had fiber, and these are it! They're as light as regular dinner rolls, more tasty, moist and perfect. I've been recommending this recipe to all of my baking friends. However, be forewarned that this makes 12 HUGE dinner rolls. Cut the recipe in half unless you're having a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Moist,light,tasty and a wonderful golden color if you use butternut squash.I baked at 375 degrees for 30 min.They tend to over brown at 400 degrees.I got two large pans(32 rolls)with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Very moist and fluffy. I used Japanese pumpkin instead of winter squash because I can't find them in Tokyo. The pumpkin gave the roll a nice color. I baked them at 375F for 15 minutes. Even husband who said "yuck, dinner rolls" ended loving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Simple to make and very tasty! Great fresh out of the oven and also great heated up the next morning with jam. Have made two times now - a great way to use up squash. The second time i used a sugar substitute and they were just as good. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I made this recipe last chirstmas, christmas 2003 and everyone went crazy over it. The best ever! they are big, moist, the best i have ever had. This will be a traditional holiday recipe in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
My kids love these rolls. I usually prepare the dough in my bread machine rather than by hand. To do this, the recipe must be resized to fit your bread machine. For my medium-sized machine, I resize the recipe to make 7.3 servings (though, I then actually make 12 rolls out of the dough. The original recipe makes rolls that are too big for my liking.) The pureed squash is added along with the other liquids at the bottom of the bread pan. Remember to use bread machine yeast ("instant" yeast) instead of active dry yeast. The recipe also seems to work very well with other vegetables. I have tried butternut squash, carrot, and beetroot (which makes great "Red Nose Day" rolls!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Super rolls! Listened to other raters and planned on having more rolls then the recipe called for. Easy to make, and the best dinner rolls I have tasted in a long time. My husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are excellent!!! They stand out of the crowd!!! Delicious rolls. I used acorn sqaush and my "squash hating, vegetable hating, don't ever try anything new" husband loved them!! No one believed thats where they got their lovely yellow color. They ate all of these and barely touched the white dinner rolls I made. They thought they tasted gourmet like what you would get at a restaraunt!!! I will definately make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States