Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars,its almost amazing! Like other reviewers said, this recipe is better halved, even when it is, you still get 12 big buns! So I half everything and use a cup of squash that I have pre mashed. I also season the squash a bit with nutmeg. The buns are so moist and delish, I usually end up cooking them for 30 minutes or longer at 375'. The first time I cooked this recipe, I followed it exactly and ended up with 12 MASSIVE ROLLS, that weren't cooked in the middle or properly and I had them in the oven for nearly an hour. So cook time was very wrong for me. So please read other reviews so you dont end up with a disapointing batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made these today using butternut squash. I used half the recipe but wish I hadn't! These looked beautiful. I substituted butter for the shortening, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
What i a wonderful recipe. I added a little more sugar so they were a bit on the sweet side. Just the way i like it. I've stored them overnight in a plastic wrap. Next day they were very soft and tasty. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I make these on a regular basis now. I made them for Thanksgiving with some farmers market delicate a squash I wanted to put to good us. I make them at least once a month. I ziplock them and ration them to the best of my abilities. I use butternut usually and up the amount to 3+cups....I use them for breakfast with honey or cinnamon/butter....yummy! My son and I love them! With honey(cardamom cinnamon) its like French toast!! Great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My kids LOVED these...which is a feat considering they won't touch squash. We used them as buns for sliders with a crockpotted roast. The dough is really easy to make. The only difficulty I ran into was that they ended up being super doughy...even after I threw them in the oven for a little longer three times (once in the pan, once completely separated, and once separated and cut in 1/2 doughy side down). Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I won't use the pan...I'll put individual rolls on my stoneware to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
ok please somebody HELP. I have all these bread recipes that call for 1 or 2 packages of yeast or .25 ounces. how much is that measurement if using a spoon? 1 teaspoon , 2 teaspoons 8 teaspoons. I am confused and can't find the conversion for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I was given two butternut squash this fall, and had no idea what to do with them! While I do enjoy it simply baked, there was no way I wanted to eat them both that way! This solved my dilemma, and I plan to make some to take to my family's Christmas gathering, I'm sure everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this recipe! I used roasted butternut and found I needed to add a lot more flour (maybe another 1 1/2 c), as the dough was very stick. I subbed 1/2 c wheat flour but hesitated to use much more for fear of them getting too heavy. Texture was perfect! I halved the recipe and still came out with 12 large rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used pumpkin, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States