Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Ifollowed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly!! I used yellow acorn squash. My whole family loved it plus extra to freeze!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This bread is everything you say, and more! I usually don't rate a recipe unless I've tried it almost exactly, and I had to make a couple of substitutions - but the recipe as written is a keeper! I started with cooked squash and used 1 1/4 cup, I used the warm 'juice' from cooking the squash to start the yeast, and I ran out of sugar, so used half panela. I don't have an oven, only a rice cooker, so I divided the dough in two. Half went into the fridge, and I formed 4 round loaves with the second half and 'baked' them on high. It's been done for ten minutes, and two of those little loves are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe at least 20x now. I get rave reviews and requests. I have used white and wheat, both work great. I always eye the flour anyway so it's implied to judge flour by the feel since flour can be more or less moisture dense. I split the butternut squash in half, scoop out the seeds/ strings, oil both halves all around and bake on 350 flesh down until a knife goes through easily. This retains more nutrients and is easy to scoop out the right amount. As soon as it's cool enough to scoop, I put scooped squash and all the ingredients except flour, yeast and the water it proofs in, into the blender and purée it. Since the squash is hot I don't need to heat the milk. I'm proofing the yeast while pureeing (I add a bit of sugar to the yeast water to speed it up). I then pour the wet mix in a bowl, whisk in the proofed yeast and then start adding flour. I get 18 gigantic rolls. I've also used this to make hamburger buns for my husband's sandwiches. This recipe is fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for dinner rolls that I could pre-make and freeze up to the final rise and then thaw and bake after the final rise since I was having hand surgery the week before Thanksgiving and still wanted to be able to cook for and host dinner. I knew my hand would not be up to kneading dough post op so I froze these after forming the rolls and before the second rise. They were sweet, light and no one could believe I hadn't made them fresh that morning! Inveterate squash haters even loved these rolls as well! Note: I was really worried that the freezing would effect the ability of the yeast to rise a second time but the little critters did just great. I am going to try making this recipe in loaf pans as I think it will make a great bread as well. The rolls were sublime when I made more to go with my turkey soup I made with the leftover turkey carcass. Note: to cut down on kneading time I use my Kitchenaide stand mixer and dough hook to knead the dough and I always end up adding about 2 extra cups of flour to get the dough to come together. I also bake my butternut squash slathered in butter and maple syrup as baking creates a much richer flavor palate than boiling or steaming in the microwave. Extra squash can be frozen in appropriate portioned ziplock baggies for future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong but my dough was very tough and never rose. I followed the directions so I am very disappointed that my ingredients were all wasted. I wish I would have had better results like every other reviewer of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Halpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and a great way to eat something I usually skip in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jones Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Ahh! My mistake. 1st off I halved the recipe for my breadmaker. I hate measuring and I believe I put in too much squash puree. So while the dough was kneading in my breadmachine I had to add a lot more flour and seeing as I had to add flour, added add'l other ingredients. Went to bed and in the morning had a HUGE loaf of squash bread that was unfortunately undercooked. I'm rating this recipe 5 because even the parts I could use tasted great! I then just cubed up the rest and dried in my oven for next weeks Turkey dinner dressing which should add a great dimention to my usual stuffing. Will definatley try again...but with measured puree:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great bread but some needed tweaks! First of all, 2 packages of yeast is far too much....this is probably why people are getting gigantic buns :) 3 tsp is more than enough. Also with the addition of the cooked squash, it adds a lot more liquid and consequently 6 cups of flour turns into closer to 8. I cut the sugar to a 1/3 cup but you could get away with only a tablespoon if you wanted and added only 1tsp of salt. The temperature is best at 350 and I found even at that, they were done with excessive browning on the bottom of the bun by 25minutes. All that said, it was a GREAT idea and what a unique way to use up some of that yummy squash. Will for sure be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is my 3d time making this recipe...it rocks! First, don't preheat your oven until the last 10 minutes of your 2d proof, or you're just wasting electricity. 2d, for anyone working with scalded milk for the first time, be sure you let it cool, or you will kill the yeast when you pour it in. The only other thing I'd say is if you divide this into 12, you'll have 12 rolls the size of your hand! I just split mine into 32 and will probably cut the oven back to 375. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
SOOOO yummy, my family loves them! Very moist! I use butter instead of shortening and exchange 2 cups of AP flour for whole wheat. I have also used honey instead of white sugar. My friends kids ate them up and she cannot get veggies down them without a fight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States