Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this exactly as written (except I substitue the shortening for 'Smart Blend' and used homemade baby-food squash puree for the winter squash). The dough was too sticky for kneading, after incorporating the 6 cups of flour. This could be the result of using baby-food squash, which is very smooth and have a high water content. I ended up adding an additional cup of flour so that the dough was workable. I also did not use a mixed as described in the instructions. I used a pastry blender to incorp the 'butter' and squash into the flour, then mixed all liquids together and add to the flour mixture using a wooden spoon. The result was very soft, delicious rolls. There was no squash flavor, which DH expected. This is a great recipe for people who are allergic to eggs. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ying

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We really enjoyed these!! Great use of a winter squash that I had in my pantry. I did halve it and we have leftovers for tomorrow. Will be making again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Thia is an awesome recipe! I made it last night for my husband and I. We used it... adding bbq pork... for dinner and it was the best. We loved it! I made 8 large rolls with a halved recipe. It was so good that I went back and made 3 more batches and froze the rolls (made smaller this time) in the freezer for use later. I also love that these used my squash which has been sitting around waiting for a good use. I had already pureed it... assuming I'd use it in sweet bread... but this is sooo much better. Thanx Mitchell!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are really good--taste very much like Sister Schubert frozen rolls (the only rolls I condescend to buy...). Anyway, I made a few adjustments per other reviewers' suggestions (most notably, AmyJean). I made 27 rolls instead of 12; put 9 in each of 3 8-inch square pans and froze two of the pans covered in saran wrap (before rising/baking). I also used oil instead of Crisco and half-whole wheat flour. I baked them 12 minutes and they were soft, but yummy! The main reason these don't get a 5 from me is that I have several other recipes (albeit without squash) which taste very similar to these, so these don't stand out in a particular way. But they're good! One more note for those new to yeast breads: if you use rapid rise (instant) yeast, you can just add the yeast to the flour and combine the water with the milk. You can skip the first rise and just let the dough rest a few minutes before shaping the rolls. Speeds everything up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Tasty, but they didn't seem to want to get done! I found the finished rolls to be a bit gooey, even after an extra 15 minutes of baking. . .but other folks at my Thanksgiving dinner really liked them! I'll have to keep playing with it, and find the right set-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These rolls were so delicious - I made rolls for Thanksgiving dinner plus largers "hamburger" style rolls for Turkey sandwiches. I did over cook one batch of rolls and they were not as good - but the ones I pulled out a bit (I thought) early were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These dinner rolls are wonderful! I will be making these for xmas dinner. I served them with some honey butter and we didn't have any left. My only remark is that they took WAY longer to cook- give yourself some time for them to bake. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner this year and they turned out really good. I didn't make any alterations to the recipe, except I wanted smaller buns and had no problem getting 32 (I don't see how you could eat one of these if you only make 12!). My only complaint is that once they cool off they turn quite hard. Next day I had to nuke them or they were like little rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My husband has been learning to make bread and this recipe has turned out the best. Very soft and nice. He is convinced that he can taste a little squash in them but I didn't notice, especially since I was dipping them in my soup. Great way to use up squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great recipe. Good light flavor, nice texture. Great color. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States