Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I reduced the amount in recipe to half and decreased the temperature to 375 degree, baking for 15 min. The outcome was just perfect! Not too dry or too moist. I love the squash taste blended with yeast bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was skeptical of this at first, but since I have a very picky son who loves bread but doesn't like vegetables, I thought I'd give it a try. We were all surprised! We used butternut squash since we had extra and they were delicious! My husband has already requested them for Thanksgiving! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I substituted butter for shortening, used steamed and puréed butternut squash, and added all ingredients to my bread machine through the first rise. Took them out and formed them into rolls, into a casserole dish, let them rise again, then into the oven. They were a beautiful golden color, moist, and delish. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good. Great way to use squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very easy to make and they are delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good recipe! If you dont have any fresh squash you can substitute canned pumpkin or mashed sweet potatoes or regular mashed potatoes just simply boil them and then mash them but without any milk etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Nice bread. This makes a LOT, as others have stated. I made a batch of rolls and 3 loaves of bread. The rolls bake up soft with a nice outer crust, and are a little sweet with a nice golden color. Great use of extra winter squash. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mine looked very much like the ones in the picture, so that was very encouraging! My husband says they are not as fluffy as the ones "we buy", but I do think they turned out fluffy and tasty. I used butter instead of shortening, I'm not sure if it influenced the result. Also, they were not too sweet and are so good hot with butter! It took about 20 minutes on 375 in my oven. They didn't really rise much (if any at all) during the second rising, but still baked nice and plump. I do like this recipe a lot, although I'm not sure if it's a good thing or not that you can't tell there's squash in them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I recently made these rolls with a couple of additions. I added thyme and dehydrated garlic which was great. The only reason I ant give it more stars is that my dough didn't really rise much. The end result was more of a biscuit than a dinner roll but they were amazing nonetheless. I plan on making these again and hope I can replicate my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States