Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just made this and it is delicious. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the celery and onion while I cooked that. I also added some garlic powder, cumin, and dried parsley to the soup while it simmered. I think cumin goes very well with root vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe! This is the perfect thing for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this tonight but tweaked it to my personal liking. I had no parsnips so used 4 turnips, substituted garlic rosemary bread dipping blend for the salt and pepper. I added 2 leeks and garlic to the onion, celery, and butter. I used 2 1/2 Tbls vegetable paste, 1 cup white wine (Chardonnay), and 6 cups of water to make the broth. Then I added the roasted vegies. It looked so good as it was that I didn't puree it or add the cream. It turned out great, will definitely make this again and again. I had never used celery root but will from now on, and I will have to try it with the parsnips as I'm sure it will add another great flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
SO GOOD!!! I only pureed about 1/2 the soup and left the rest whole veggies so that the family would eat it. I loved everything about this soup!!! I thought the pureed soup part was the best so next time I'll just make if for myself so I can puree all of it! So flavorful and perfect for fall/winter! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very nice soup. I used broth I made from a combination of veg tips an peels that I saved in a zip bag in the freezer and some veg that I roasted. Much better than packaged and you control the salt. I needed two quarts of broth to thin this enough to eat....still quite thick. I added nutmeg and the grated peel of one orange at the end. This really made it pop. Otherwise, no other changes. Served with paninis made with swiss, provolone, tomato and proscuitto. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I mixed up the root veggies, added a little extra broth and it tasted amazing. Didn't even need to add the half and half because the veggies had so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved it! The combination of the different flavors from the roots were wonderful. Next time I am going to cut back on the butternut squash a little and add more parsnips and celery root. I have never cooked with celery root before but now it's my favorite. The only thing I would add to this recipe is to stir in herbs. I used basil and dill and I think it added a little more flavor (not that it was lacking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
amazing! added a few of the suggestions: -garlic when cooking onion and celery -dill, cumin, garlic powder, and parsley after adding roasted veggies to soup sooooooooooo good....highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great tasting soup. The entire family loved it - even the vegetable haters! I roasted a head of garlic too and added the roasted cloves to the soup. Wonderful flavor. Also added 1/2 cup of asiago cheese. Making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great soup - added some dried rosemary and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Added fresh parsley and also a pinch of nutmeg - did not add milk or half and half as the soup was creamy enough without these. Made a complete meal with a side salad and naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Roasting the vegetables first gave it a wonderful flavor. The sweet potato added a nice level of sweetness. It is a hearty winter soup. I served it with a nice crusty french bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States