Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So delicious. I modified as others suggested by doubling the broth (needed it), and adding garlic, parsley and cumin. I did not add half-and-half and served sour cream on the side. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A local Irish restaurant in town serves root soup and I wanted to find the recipe. This is VERY close! It was delicious. The only thing I did different was I did add Garlic and I had some rutabaga that I added from our garden. Some are saying the texture was too 'baby food like'. That is exactly what root soup is! :) If you are adding more broth, then saying it is too bland - that is why. If you add too much broth you are watering down the taste of the veggies. I served this with some home made Irish Brown Bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this with a big bulb of fennel instead of celeriac, and I eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. Turned out super thick, so I added some milk until the mixture was more soup-like. Used my trusty immersion stick blender to puree it up just a little bit - wanted each bite of soup to have distinct vegetable flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use some leftover roasted root veggies, so I tried this one. Per other reviews, I added cumin, salt, pepper, and a little garlic salt, and I followed the recipe (except for the celery root). The first few bites were good and hearty, but then it started tasting a little like dirt; the earthiness was a little heavy. The veggies I had were butternut squash, sweet potato, red onion, parsnips, carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, and red onion. I'm sure it was a combination of my own "operator error" and the veggies I used, but I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Delicious! I made a few changes - more carrots and onions, less butternut squash because it was what I had on hand. I actually loved the consistency, and I used exactly the amount of liquid suggested; I love a thick and hearty soup on a cold day! My favorite additions: cumin and nutmeg to give it a little kick, and when serving, if you REALLY want to indulge, add a little goat cheese to the bowl after serving. Yuuum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I read all the comments before making it and followed some of the changes, olive oil for butter, less turnip, cut back the salt, added leek, garlic and basil. Very good, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
It was sooooo good! I used some different veggies, basically what I had on hand. I didn't add any cream or milk but used almond milk instead and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I omitted the sweet potato because I didn't have one and used chix broth in lieu of vegatable. I also added some chopped leeks to the veggies during roasting. Came out delicious. The soup is amazing even without the 1/2 'n 1/2 so make sure you try it before adding. I just added a half of what it called for but next time I think I will leave out entirely to save calories. I also sprinkle some cumin in my bowl and it is wonderul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So tasty. Needed lots more broth than suggested to make it easier to purée. Was a bit sweeter with the roasted veggies and definitely filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States