Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Tried this last night for the first time and except for adding a little additional spice and doing some minor substitutions, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fabulous. I couldn't find celery root at my store so I omitted it. I subbed turnip with rutabaga because it's sweeter in taste and not as bitter. Finally I added heavy whipping cream instead of 1/2 & 1/2. Veggies were nice and soft after roasting for 40 minutes, and it was easy to purée them in the dutch oven with a handheld mixer. Beyond salt and pepper, I added 3 generous tsp of garlic, a little bit of cumin, and some garlic powder. The soup had the consistency of a pea soup; a little thick but this is how it's supposed to be. I served it with warm demi baguettes and a glass of Merlot and all I can say is this recipe is a keeper for cold winter nights when you want something warm and filling, but also healthy. I gotta say that this recipe has also inspired me to do a lot more roasted vegetables with dinner because it's so easy and they're so good right out of the oven! Thanks for sharing this great winter soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good. Since I need to be diary free I used olive oil instead of butter and cashew milk rather than half and half. Very nice hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serenity
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I just finished making this. My wife raved about it. I had some with a little sour cream and it was absolutely delicious. The only ingredient I didn't have was celery root so I added celery. Also I added more chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was amazing!! I cooked it in my dutch oven over a campfire, and didn't change too much. Added 2 quarts of broth, which seemed needed for all the veggies. I did not roast the veggies, but simply sautéed them in dutch oven pot for 20 min first. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Cleaning out the fridge: - carrots, parsnips, turnips, beets, sweet potato for the roast step - butter, onion, garlic, celery for saute chicken stock for simmer w/bit of parsley, rosemary and thyme - evap milk to finish and topped w/parmesan to serve. Really tasty and great way to finish up those stray roots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Thicker than a normal soup, but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Added beets because we had them and it turned out very sweet. But overall we liked it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup is so good! I didn't have turnips, but otherwise made as per the recipe. I found I needed much more stock to get a "soupy" consistency, but that meant I had much more soup! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really liked it! I woke today and it was 12 degrees outside. Been carrying this around for a while now and finally made it.never cook much with parsnips, butternut squash, and never with celery root. I pretty much followed the recipe but did take a few hints from the other reviews. I used four parsnips, 2 celery roots, I did add about a tsp of dried basil, a tsp of dill weed. I also used one whole chopped sweet onion and two cloves of minced garlic. Because I increased those items it took almost 1 pint of half and half and almost 32 oz boxes of vegetable broth. The result was creamy smooth and not too sweet and not bitter at all. Warming this soup tomorrow will be fantastic! The only thing that you may want change is cutting up the turnips more as I found cutting them into even eights required more than an hour to cook them through. Thank you! This a unique soup and one to keep!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So delicious. I modified as others suggested by doubling the broth (needed it), and adding garlic, parsley and cumin. I did not add half-and-half and served sour cream on the side. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States