Winter Red Sauce over Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My bf and I really liked this recipe. I didn't make it with vegan sausage or bell peppers and I added dried oregano and topped with shredded parmesan it was delicious. Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Best spaghetti squash recipe I've made! My Dad grows spaghetti squash, and I've tried several.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Winter Red Sauce over Spaghetti Squash Haiku: "Who needs the noodles? When the sauce tasted so good. (And healthy, to boot!)" I only changed a couple things, such as reducing the sugar and salt by half, and putting the squash into the oven whole, rather than cut, for a little over an hour. (I didn't feel like hacking it in half uncooked.) Otherwise, I was faithful to the recipe, and was really delighted w/ the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Yummy. I cooked my squash whole in the slow cooker all day on low so it would be ready when I got home from work (just add a cup of water and poke some holes in it). Only other thing I did differently was to skip the vegan sausage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe was excellent! Just what I was looking for! My changes: I microwaved the squash for eight minutes to save time (it comes out fine), and used an entire package of Tofurkey sausage that I sliced and added to the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
very very good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Delicious. This was a wonderful vegetarian alternative to spaghetti with meat sauce. My meat loving husband also enjoyed. The only changes I made were 1 can of diced tomatoes, boiled down to get rid of the water and I omitted the tomato paste. Can't wait to have the leaftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe misses the mark. For one, a 6.5 ounce can of tomato sauce is less than a cup of tomato sauce. One cup is not enough for four servings, let alone a whole spaghetti squash. In addition, 2 whole teaspoons of salt is far too much salt, especially when most tomato sauces that you can buy at the store (I used Contadina) already have salt added to them. One or two pinches are really all that is needed. And finally, this recipe does not need sugar! Besides the sugar already present in the tomatoes, spaghetti squash is already sweet - it is a squash, after all. What I changed: I used 1 cup of sliced mushrooms, 1 15 ounce can of tomato sauce, no sugar, no bell pepper (personal taste - I don't like bell pepper), and 2 medium stalks of diced celery. I guess I made my own recipe, but this recipe was the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splendent

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This sauce was delicious exactly as written, however next time (and there will be a next time) I will use a little less of the all the spices. That is just my personal taste. As far as the person that gave this a one star, they never even tried the recipe as written. They are completely wrong - this was enough for 4 large servings and the small amount of tomato sauce and paste was perfect. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yum! Instead of making the sauce I used a jar of marinara. Even my meat eating husband liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States