Winter Market Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Wow, yum! I doubled the dressing, used 1 large apple, 1 celery root, 3 large carrots and 2 large beets. Shredded them all with my food processor. Super easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I don't especially like carrots. This salad is fabulous for using up carrots, because they're suddenly yummy! It's super-easy and really really delicious. I didn't have the celeriac, and I did add some mayo, but this is a GREAT base recipe. I added some crumbled smoky bacon on top and that was really, REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I'm being generous even giving this recipe 3 stars! Just didn't do it for me or my hubby. If you do try it, cut the vinegar by 1/2 (and I love vinegar!). So not worth having all the beet "blood" all over the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Had a gathering of 9 ladies to dinner. Didn't want a "salad" to go with my tureen of beef stew. This looked more interesting! Not only was it a great hit, but was glad there was left over for me the next day. I grated veggies day before and refrigerated each separately. Then layered them in a glass serving bowl, added the apple and the dressing and Wow, what a hit! Did use a wee bit less vinegar as one reviewer suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Followed the recipe, but only used about a third of the dressing. We really liked it, and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I might add some nuts for crunch - toasted walnuts, or even sunflower seeds...but it was quite good as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just love the idea of this recipe = fresh ingredients in the winter time! I didn't have any beets, so I made the recipe the first time without. The celery root is a must, I think, it adds a pepperiness that is just lovely. I thought the sauce was very sour due to equal amounts of Olive Oil and Cider Vinegar. I've made the recipe a second time and replaced the olive oil with some mayo and added less cider vinegar; the rest of the dressing I left the same. Another wonderful addition is some diced red bell pepper (in my case, instead of the beet), this adds crunch and sweetness without adding more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I gave it four stars. I followed the recipe to the letter but for me it lacked flavour. Next time I make it I will try using sesame oil instead of olive oil as I think it would better complement the crunchy texture of the vegetables used and give it more of an Asian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a cheap, easy-to-prepare fresh salad for the winter, when our immune system really needs a boost. The cheery colour is an added bonus. Don't leave anything out of this salad! The dressing is delicous too. I just used a tablespoon less apple cider, to lessen the sour flavour. I think I will be making this salad often from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
very good salad , not very sweet , but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is one great salad! I had to leave out the celeriac-- it's not easy to come by around here. The apple is a must-- it just goes so well with everything else. Thanks for the recipe, Lynzee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States