Winter Market Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was delicious! The apple is a must (I used Fuji). I left out the celery root and used half the dressing. The combination of the sweet veggies/apple and tangy dressing was perfect, and the apple added a nice juiciness and texture. Very easy to prepare, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is delicious. The changes I made: I left out the celery root and just added in extra beets and carrots. I didn't have dijon mustard but felt like it needed some heat, so I used regular mustard and a dash of dry mustard. Next time I make this I may try other veggies like radishes, onions, peppers, etc. The beets have such a different flavor raw than when cooked, which is good because I don't care for cooked beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is one great salad! I had to leave out the celeriac-- it's not easy to come by around here. The apple is a must-- it just goes so well with everything else. Thanks for the recipe, Lynzee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
very good salad , not very sweet , but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a cheap, easy-to-prepare fresh salad for the winter, when our immune system really needs a boost. The cheery colour is an added bonus. Don't leave anything out of this salad! The dressing is delicous too. I just used a tablespoon less apple cider, to lessen the sour flavour. I think I will be making this salad often from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Followed the recipe, but only used about a third of the dressing. We really liked it, and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I might add some nuts for crunch - toasted walnuts, or even sunflower seeds...but it was quite good as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Had a gathering of 9 ladies to dinner. Didn't want a "salad" to go with my tureen of beef stew. This looked more interesting! Not only was it a great hit, but was glad there was left over for me the next day. I grated veggies day before and refrigerated each separately. Then layered them in a glass serving bowl, added the apple and the dressing and Wow, what a hit! Did use a wee bit less vinegar as one reviewer suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I don't especially like carrots. This salad is fabulous for using up carrots, because they're suddenly yummy! It's super-easy and really really delicious. I didn't have the celeriac, and I did add some mayo, but this is a GREAT base recipe. I added some crumbled smoky bacon on top and that was really, REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Wow, yum! I doubled the dressing, used 1 large apple, 1 celery root, 3 large carrots and 2 large beets. Shredded them all with my food processor. Super easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I really liked this, once I got past the appearance. Of course, the whole salad turns a uniform neon red from the beets and I found that unappetizing, but the flavor combo of the veggies and the dressing was great. I kept to the recipe and used a food processor for quick shredding. It tasted best after sitting a couple hours. Served with herb roasted pork tenderloin and was a great accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States